We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jazz on Tuesday nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Market Place Restaurant

The Market Place Restaurant
20 Wall St., Asheville, NC 28801-2710
+1 828-252-4162
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Market Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 653 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Battery Park
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Market Place Restaurant specializes in handcrafted cuisine from seasonal, local ingredients, many of which come from within a 100 mile radius of Asheville. Bringing you the local harvest since 1979. Serving Dinner from 5:30pm, 7 days a week in our newly renovated restaurant. Brunch from 10:30am - 2:30pm on Saturdays & Sundays. Our classic American lounge serves local brews and handmade cocktails and is open until.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great jazz on Tuesday nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food and service is top notch. Lovely contemporary atmosphere. Rat Alley Cats is the name of the band. They only play on Tuesdays. Get a table close to them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    89
    33
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The food was good, and the restaurant was nice looking. The prices were reasonable. I would go back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Live Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Live music as you step in the door welcomes you! After our first visit for a drink, our group came the next evening for dinner. There is a cozy bar area at the front entry area with dining downstairs and upstairs. With a variety of choices on the menu from steak to vegan. I enjoyed the Trout, perfectly tender. Our waitress was entertaining while efficient quickly serving our drinks and foods. So much fun.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A family member had his rehearsal dinner here this weekend and it was great. The food was AMAZING. There were 45 of us and every person said that their food was amazing. We had 3 things to pick from and they were all great. The service was excellent was well. I will go bak again and again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleased overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent Service, food, and value. Nice décor. Like many places like this however, apparently the Chef is a bit pretentions, preferring not to pair certain items upon request. Who's more important here, the chef, or me? I'm just the customer, I guess.

That said, everything else met or exceeded our expectations. We have reservations to return on New Year's eve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.