We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Market Place Restaurant

The Market Place Restaurant
20 Wall St., Asheville, NC 28801-2710
+1 828-252-4162
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Market Place Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Battery Park
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Asheville, The Market Place Restaurant specializes in handcrafted cuisine from seasonal, local ingredients, many of which come from within a 100 mile radius of Asheville. Bringing you the local harvest since 1979. Serving Dinner from 5:30pm, 7 days a week in our newly renovated restaurant. Brunch from 10:30am - 2:30pm on Saturdays & Sundays. Our classic American lounge serves local brews and handmade cocktails and is open until.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Shared the pork chop. Huge piece of meat with a sweet potato side and roasted oyster mushrooms. The mushrooms were the best part of the meal. Outstanding flavor! Pork chop was delicious and juicy.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    89
    33
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to have a drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

One of my favorite places to sit down and have a drink. I need to come here for dinner someday but I find sitting at the bar relaxing and if I need a snack I always get the mussels which are very good. Bartenders and wait staff are all very friendly and it's low key swanky where you can actually watch a football game. Love this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good quiet atmosphere with live music. Good food, not too expensive, not very busy on Saturday night which was surprising. I recommend the mussel app!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and music on Friday nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our daughter brought us here for dinner last Friday night and we had a blast. We sat at the bar so we could have a spot close to the entertainment, guitarist Patrick Fitzsimmons. Soft jazz that was just right. We could actually speak to each other and not have to yell. The chef made a point to visit with us for a few minutes for a nice chat. We shared several small dishes including the smoked chicken spring rolls, the cauliflower soup, the corn cakes (YUM) and also the gnocchi.
Everything was delicious....although the soup was my least favorite and could have added a bit more flovor.
Next time I'm in town on a Friday night....I'll stop back in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Craft Cocktails, Beer on Tap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stopped here for some drinks before dinner. Very cool bar and very cool drinks. Good wine list, a few cool craft cocktails and a few cool draft beers. Would like to also check out their food sometime.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.