We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh, local, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Local Taco

The Local Taco
68 North Lexington Avenue, Asheville, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“fresh, local, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

good fresh flavor, great patio!!, and service was friendly and knowledgeable. we sat on the patio even though it was a little chilly, the sun felt great. good fresh margaritas and guacamole. particularly enjoyed the korean bbq, southern fried chicken, and house smoked brisket. will definitely be back since inside seems cozy and we can have dinner, drinks, apps, for cheap!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great spot downtown for tacos and more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Local Taco is located on Lexington Avenue in the former Boca space. They have indoor seating and a nice outside patio/courtyard space. Wait staff is always friendly and the tacos (that’s all I ever order) are super! I like the spicy avocado taco and the lime chicken taco the best. The barbecue taco is another sure bet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“meh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our waitress was very sweet, but quite forgetful.

Margueritas hit and miss. (We had a few rounds, one was good, the other not so good.) Did not enjoy the taco at all--lime chicken. The waitress did offer to replace it with something else and but I just had had enough of bad food and said no thank you. (I wasn't angry--it just wasn't good.)

Guacamole tasted like the advocados were not fresh. The queso I buy at Costco and heat in the microwave at home is far superior to the queso we were served. Pico was decent. The chips were good, though. We had the sauce trio, chips and one taco. The only thing we ate were the chips. So, it was kind of expensive for that. If the food had been good, then it would have been reasonably priced. Maybe just a bad night, as the reviews promised us a better experience. (We are pretty low key and generally easy to please, but Asheville was not kind to us!!)

Nice outdoor seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Long waits but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my first time eating at The Local Taco. We ordered several different specialty tacos and shared. Our favorite was the Chicken Sesame Teriyaki. Our only complaint was that service was slow (it was a holiday weekend - to be expected!). Atmosphere is lo-key and even has covered outside seating. Lots of dogs there with their owners.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gluten free or not??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband orders gluten free d/t an intolerance. The menu states certain items are gluten free, when questioning the waitress she stated that the manager said the chips are fried in a different oil and therefore ARE GF, however, the kitchen staff say otherwise. Our waitress was kind enough to enquire for us the true answer, which is that they are not GF, BUT SHOULD BE!!! Sounds like a miscommunication in the restaurant. Otherwise the food was good and big enough portions to get full. I don't agree with the charge for the salsa however, especially when the chips are free? And the flies outside were pretty annoying; guess that's what we get for choosing to sit outside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Taco also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Local Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.