We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat and People Watch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfel's

Mayfel's
22 College St, Asheville, NC 28801-2803 (Downtown Asheville)
828-252-8840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Asheville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat and People Watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food and very reasonable prices for food and cocktails. Had the crab cakes on my last visit, they were big and very moist.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    145
    66
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walhalla, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stumbled upon this place once in Asheville without having time to wait the 1+ hour it would require, so when we came back we made sure to be earlier. It's a popular place! I really wanted to try the blueberries & cream french toast. It was very good, a massive serving and sweet but not too sweet. My date had the omelet special, which was also very good. You can tell they make it when you order it; it's quality food. We ate out on the front porch and there was a musician on the street and a bustling Sunday city atmosphere, so it was a very pleasant dining experience. Great little place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

On our way home from TN and were hungry. After driving around downtown this seemed like a good spot. We weren't wrong. The hillbilly's breakfast did not disappoint. The eggs and home style potatoes with bacon were done to perfection and were served with a hearty big biscuit -- which I took home for later. We also ordered the pumpkin brioche style french toast with berries because they sounded so excellent to pass up. These were very disappointing and not tasty at all. We took them home and doctored them up for today's breakfast with some real maple syrup and weren't too bad. Our waitress was excellent and attentive, always keeping my husband's coffee cup full. The place is relaxed and friendly, certainly a casual atmosphere inviting to relax and enjoy each other's company.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lucky they are beside Tupelo Honey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The food is not really bad, but if Tupelo Honey was able to seat more people this place would probably not exist. The patio out back is amazing if the food matched that ambiance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Tried this restaurant after our first choice was full but I must say the burgers were some of the best burgers I had ever had. I was not impressed by their fries they looked like they were the frozen shoestring fries you could buy at any grocery store. That is my only complaint everyone in my group really liked their food and service was speedy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfel's also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mayfel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfel's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.