We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Last Visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
5 Spartan Ave, Asheville, NC 28806-1176
828- 665-9950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 653 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ. ‎
North Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

While travelling on I-40 recently, we decided to try our first Fatz since we did not want to try the fast food restaurants clustered around the interchange. We should have stuck with the fast food places. As first time visitors we were offered free samples of their fried chicken. It was average at best. That should have been an indication. The best thing we tried were the dinner rolls. Food is only in the below average range. My steak and shrimp both had almost no taste. It may have been our first visit to this chain of restaurants, but it will also be our last.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear the taste and quality of our Calabash Chicken, steak and shrimp were below average. We agree that this is unacceptable, and it does not live up to the high standards we expect of our team. Please accept our apologies and thank you for your feedback as we can’t get better without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    66
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped at Fatz a year ago on our way back from a spring break trip. We loved it so much we had to go back this year too! I can’t say enough about the staff. They are incredibly welcoming, helpful, and a lot of fun! They seem to enjoy their job and are excellent at what they do. They truly gave us some of the best service we’ve ever had.

We had a group of 5 of us and we all were extremely satisfied with our meals. Be warned that the poppyseed rolls with honey butter are addicting! Our table would definitely recommend our food choices. Three of us had the world famous calabash chicken and ribs combo with your choice of sides, one had the steak, and I had the Asian chicken salad. So yummy! The menu has a great selection. I wish there was a Fatz in the Chicago area! I would love to visit this restaurant again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When we travel in the Southeast we love to stop at Fatz for lunch or dinner. It is always a great experience. The food is always very good and often has some rather unique selections.
The steaks are always very good, their salads are VERY fresh and delicious, and the rolls they serve are absolutely yummy.
Yes they are a chain but are in a class by themselves. Best of all, the servers and staff at all the Fatz we have stopped at are very well trained, personable, and just plain fun to be with.
When we were about to leave, we met the manager, Greg Petty, and told him we were in the area to visit Biltmore Estate and he went into "travel Guide" mode. He gave us some excellent tips on what to see in the area and particularly some great suggestions that enhanced our tour of the Biltmore Estate.
All in all, good food, good people, and a fun place to eat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrior, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ate here on both of our recent visits to Asheville. The menu is a little different than your typical American boring restaurant. I love the calabash shrimp wrap. And the service is outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trying something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food was awesome. Our server was great. She said the food had big portions, but we had no idea. The serving size is HUGE! This was the first time at Fatz and we really enjoyed it. We will be back!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.