We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asheville Vegan Funkified” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosetta's Kitchen

Rosetta's Kitchen
116 North Lexington Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801-2905 (Downtown Asheville)
828-232-0738
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 633 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Asheville Vegan Funkified”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you're looking for good vegan food at a reasonable price with a quintessential Asheville experience, this may be your place. Order your food at the counter and find a table. I am not a vegan, but their chili is great-especially when it's smothering their homemade fries.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    67
    43
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Quick Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stopped into Rosetta's for a quick meal before heading home. It is a great place do just that, but has a cool Asheville vibe and a nice place to hang out longer also. We particularly like the tempeh, the sweet potato fries and the Buchi Local "Fire" Kombucha, which they have on tap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Saw some great reviews of this place. My husband picked it out and we tried it out. I'm a vegetarian, he is not. He got something that had chunks of what we thought was tofu, and it was terrible. We tried putting gravy, and then tried ketchup, nothing covered up the terrible flavor. I got a veggie burger and fires, and it was good. So the lesson here is to buy something you know will be good and not go for the suggestion from the waitress. She claimed the item was her favorite...I wonder if they were just trying to get rid of the stuff?? We were disappointed, we were expecting something more. Maybe we just went on a bad day? Maybe the food was off? I don't know. He dumped his whole plate and went to Mcdonald's after I finished my sandwich.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting Place for Veg Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We got take out for dinner from this interesting kitchen. We picked this place during a trip to Asheville where we were trying out all the veg restaurants.

Food - We got a couple of sandwiches and some sides. The first sandwich was the "voted best veggie burger in Asheville" according to their website. With that billing I was disappointed. I found the burger quite bland. The second sandwich was the Pulled Portabella BBQ which was quite good and the highlight of the meal. The burger came with a side of tortilla chips which were unfortunately stale and the BBQ came with slaw which was good. For sides we got the beans of the day which were pintos and nicely seasoned. We also tried the vegan Mac and cheese which was not as I was expecting. It was good but was more dry when I was expecting something moist and gooey. Overall the food was good but not great enough to warrant a second visit during our trip but we will likely try them again on a future visit.

Parking tips - We were able to find metered street parking on the N. Lexington Ave. side of the location. There is also an entrance on the Broadway street side but we found no easy parking there. There are doors on both streets. The backside door on N. Lexington leads to a staircase which takes you up to an eating area and then to the kitchen. Additional parking can be found in a lot across the street and also in another lot under the interstate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great tempeh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Love the cool, funky atmosphere. Service is ok, but the atmosphere of Asheville funk and the exceptional quality of the food make this a worthy outing.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosetta's Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Rosetta's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosetta's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.