We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum-O!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Wayside Bar & Grille

Village Wayside Bar & Grille
30 Lodge St, Asheville, NC 28803-2605 (Formerly The Depot)
828-277-4121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum-O!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a REALLY great place to eat in the Historic Biltmore Village area. We walked around the area looking at the menus of the fancy froo-froo restaurants in this part of town and then decided to give Village Wayside a try. The have the BEST onion rings and the rest of the food that we tried was great too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    120
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
“quality of food not as good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Service was great, but the food quality is not what it used to be and the price on some items seem to go up. We love to support local businesses, but this time of the year seems to center around tourists. We have been going for several years, and our last visit will be our last.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Kentucky
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Great little family owned & operated joint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The employees are friendly but not intrusive. A relaxing place with very reasonable pricing. Get a Moscow Mule - cold & tasty.
It's located almost at the entry into the Biltmore Village as you exit the Estate. Plenty of shops, parking, and places to eat. But I would stop at this place - you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for good food and good beer on a budget.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This was the first place we ate on our trip to Asheville. It is in a convenient location in biltmore village. Very friendly service, good beer selection, very laid back. Atmosphere seemed somewhat generic but the food was outstanding. Good mix of pub food and more eclectic dishes. Waiter was very knowledgeable about the local beers. Would definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Neat setup, eclectic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is in an old train station office and has a great train station vibe and decoration to it. It also has a good selection of NC beers. Big thumbs up for supporting local beers and microbrews!

The food was good and better than average. When you factor in the price it was really good. We had the bacon skins as an appetizer and the brisket plate and pork platter for entrees. The menu is quite varied and is based upon the variety of places the owners visited and experienced in their life.

Our server was Trey and he was excellent. He was attentive without being overbearing and shared some history of the place. If I lived close to Asheville this would definitely be my spot!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Wayside Bar & Grille also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Village Wayside Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Wayside Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.