Unlike someone else who posted a review, my experience at Heiwa was marred by being told the soy sauce was gluten-free, but it wasn't! Fortunately, I asked at the very last minute after ordering and before my meal was prepared, if I could see the bottle of soy sauce to read the ingredients. I've had too many experiences at restaurants of being told an item is gluten-free when it is only wheat-free, because the management, chef and wait staff don't know the difference! I'm a celiac and can't risk a gluten exposure. Sure enough, I read the ingredients on the bottle, and the soy sauce that they claimed was gluten-free and were going to use in cooking my meal contained barley. Not only that, but when I pointed that out to the server and explained to him that barley contains gluten the same as wheat, he proceeded to argue with me that it was safe and that there was only "a little bit of gluten in it"! Informed celiacs know that it is not safe ... wheat, barley, rye, spelt, triticale all contain gluten that is toxic to celiacs. Even if celiacs don't FEEL a reaction, internal damage is still being done. I haven't been back, but I wonder if they're still using products containing barley and claiming that they're gluten-free. Be careful! Ask to see the ingredients with your own eyes. Your health and even your life can literally depend on it. I'm only rating Heiwa as "poor" instead of "terrible" because my dining companion, who is not a celiac, had what looked like a nice dish. I wound up with rubbery tasteless tofu, some mung bean sprouts and brown rice, no veggies which is what I asked for.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.