We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hannah Flanagan's Pub - CLOSED

Hannah Flanagan's Pub
27 Biltmore Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3603 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 252-1922
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
North Carolina Smoky Mountains, North Carolina
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have met the owners more than once. Wonderful people. Their son is the Manager. Food is authentic and delicious. Bar atmosphere with a zillion beers. Very busy during lunch, so get there early! Parking can be tough. Try the Rueben! Daily specials. Great service, friendly and attentive. You won't go wrong.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A good Irish Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

During sports events you can be overwhelmed with the young crowd and their over joyours banter. Hard to talk and think at the same time...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Decent pub food, service with a bad attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Had about an hour and a half before a Celtic concert, so figured we'd hit Hannah Flanagan's for some Bangers and Mash and a pint of Guinness beforehand. The place was only about 1/3 full, and we took the only open booth. Though there were two waitstaff, it took 10 minutes of them walking by before one of them even started to clean off the table from the previous diners. Finally, 15 minutes after we sat, he brought the menus - no "Hi" or "Welcome to Hannah Flanagan's" or "sorry for the wait" - not even a smile - just an unchanging scowl. Then he left before we even had a chance to order beers, only coming back about 10 minutes after that to take our order.

We told him we had a concert to be at soon and that we sort of needed to hurry. I ordered a burger and my spouse ordered the Bangers and Mash. I asked for my burger well done and as the waiter was walking away again he called over his shoulder that the well done would take a bit. I responded that medium would be fine if it would speed things up. His response - he turned and yelled "Attitude!"

Anyway, the food came out 30 minutes later (total time now 55 mins after we came in). The food was good, though IMHO the bangers should have been served with peas instead of some bland squash. But because of the delays, we had to quickly wolf down our food, pay and bolt for our show.

So, while the food was good, and the beers were on special for $3/pint of local brew, the bad attitude of the server has put us off returning here (other patrons were commenting on his bad attitude as well).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pub Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Average pub food in a pub atmshere I had their fish and chips which were very good.....okay to bring the kids

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Typical Irish Pub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Food is so so. What you expect from a dark Irish bar. Pub food. Some people loves this place and think it is one of the best burgers in town. Go to Burgermeisters. Then tell me what you think about the best burger. Not my favorite place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hannah Flanagan's Pub also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hannah Flanagan's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.