We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent sushi in north asheville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zen Sushi
640 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804-3400
(828) 225-6033
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent sushi in north asheville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a small restaurant in Merrimon Square in north asheville. It has excellent sushi, good entrees and a nice atmosphere. There is outdoor seating available.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    16
    8
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfying japanese/asian food in a comfortable pleasant atmoshere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Zen sushi was one of Asheville's first sushi spots, and its still probably the best. Its not downtown, so you are generally diming with locals. This is a mountain town, but sushi has always tasty and good. Spider roll is one of our family favorites, along with the Bento boxes, which are a good value and are plenty big enough to share.
Service can be slow sometimes, but this is Asheville, so its slow but friendly. We use for both takeout and dine in.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“simple, easy, fast and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love Zen Sushi for the simple fact that I can meet friends and clients here for lunch with ample parking and a wonderful menu. I have a habit of sticking to things I like and honestly can share that I venture further into their roll menu than in other sushi joints.
They know me and have come to expect my moods (will order the old stand bus if gloomy or try something new if happy). I appreciate knowing staff in regular haunts.
The prices are still reasonable as in my mind too many sushi joints are getting uppity regarding pricing these days.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Japanese in North Asheville”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Our first visit to Zen Sushi was not a total success, but it might have been our own fault. I like Japanese cuisine but my wife is not convinced. However, she finally agreed to visit Zen Sushi after having passed it by for years. It is located on the top floor of a two-story strip center along with several other restaurants. First mistake: since the weather was nice, we decided to eat outside on a balcony. We finally decided that the chairs were too low for the tables, but we were already settled in. Second problem: traffic noise from adjacent Merrimon Avenue seems to travel upward so it noisier up there on the balcony. The remedy to problems one and two -- sit inside -- it looked nice. Third problem: I have grown to despise the oh-so-common "How are you guys?" "What would you guys like to drink?" repertoire of servers trying to be your friends. Both our servers were OK, but cut the "you guys" from every sentence! But I digress... The food (sushi and soba noodle soup) was pretty good but not as tasty as what I have experienced from comparable Japanese restaurants in Atlanta. Prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had lunch before going to Biltmore. Prices were very reasonable, and the food was delicious.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Sushi also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Zen Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.