We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zambra

Zambra
85 W Walnut St, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 232-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zambra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Haywood Street
Description: Our dynamic menu is the passion of Executive Chef Adam. Adam has attained many influences through his training in Europe and New Orleans. Zambra is his modern vision of the tastes and flavors of the western Mediterranean: Spain, Portugal, Gypsy, and North Africa. As an appropriate accompaniment, we have assembled the region's finest selection of Spanish and New World wines. We have been awarded the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and our wine list has been voted the best in Asheville.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

One of the best meals I have ever had. Service was great and the food was creative, artistic, interesting, and delicious. Went early (5ish) on a Friday evening and the restaurant was almost empty.

The specials menu was almost twice as big as the main menu and had the better dishes. The shrimp dish on special (some sort of thai-coconut type dish) was the best shrimp we have ever had. Every dish felt like a tiny, complete meal. Two of us split 7 dishes and all were great, some were spectacularly excellent.

Not cheap eats, but great value for the quality you get. Meal for 2 was less than $70.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    147
    41
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a huge party of over 25 people, and our meeting organizer set up a huge, family style dinner for all of us, with many different appetizers and small plates of entrees to share, with vast amounts of sangria and water. Each plate was better than the last, and many of us probably ate more than we should've but it was well worth it...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Inventive, Wonderful Food and Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

So many great choices, fair prices, and excellent drinks! This place is so good we went twice. The atmosphere is ecletic and the food combinations were terrific. If you have any adventure at all when it comes to eating, then this is the place for you.

We love tapas, and the staff encourages you to take your time and order as you like...so drink a little, eat a little, drink some more, order some more great food!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my first visit to any tapas restaurant and it was an excellent choice! The Kask-away cocktail was so unique and refreshing! I ordered the eggplant dish and the rosemary-garlic sausage along with the pan rustico (the herb infused olive oil was to die for!!!) I thoroughly enjoyed the combination of herbs, vegetables and spices in all the dishes! The atmosphere is great - dimly lit for ambience and so comfortable. Our server was excellent! I look forward to another visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place if your not famished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is my second visit. My first time was with my wife on a romantic weekend get away. This time we brought our two teenagers after a political rally. Food was exceptional. Well prepared and presented. We demolished the first 4 plates as soon as they touched the table. The duck confit gumbo was remarkable. When the next 3 plates were cleaned in the same amount of time we decide (for the sake of my wallet) to turn the evening into a progressive dinner and walk to another eatery for the main course. Really, it was my bad for taking two teenagers for tapas. Kind of like taking them out form sushi. For a date night however, you can't go wrong here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambra also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.