We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zambra

Zambra
85 W Walnut St, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 232-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zambra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Haywood Street
Description: Our dynamic menu is the passion of Executive Chef Adam. Adam has attained many influences through his training in Europe and New Orleans. Zambra is his modern vision of the tastes and flavors of the western Mediterranean: Spain, Portugal, Gypsy, and North Africa. As an appropriate accompaniment, we have assembled the region's finest selection of Spanish and New World wines. We have been awarded the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and our wine list has been voted the best in Asheville.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Incredible variety and atmosphere. We spent hours here and enjoyed every minute. The service and decor were also tops.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    139
    39
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The food was very good. Lots of wine, not so much beer. The staff was polite but a little stand off ish. I would go back though.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have been here multiple times over the course of the last 4-5 years. It has always been excellent. On my last visit I had the free range chicken and it was absolutely delicious! Excellent wine, drink, and beer list as well. You can't go wrong eating and drinking here. It does get noisy inside, so if hearing is an issue this may not be the best choice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why is this not #1 in Asheville?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The tapas and entrées here are AMAZING! Maybe I got lucky, but my bf and I ordered 5 different tapas and an entrée each and we couldn't stop eating! It is some of the best restaurant food we have ever had and I have been to more than a few countries. Needless to say we had left overs for breakfast!

We had duck, lamb, pheasant and pork... I have no idea how anyone can give this place a lacklustre review! To top everything off, the ambience is wonderful. They have this cozy, romantic Moroccan setting in a quiet, low key environment. My only regret is that I tried this on our last night in Asheville. I am going back to Asheville soon and will be eating at this place every night!

I told the server that if I ever opened a restaurant I will steal his chef!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Food and Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I loved the looks of this place from the reviews. It had snowed, so we walked, and there were not many there. Our wait person was nice, not really informative, but we figured out what we might like, and ordered. We both ordered drinks, and though the price would have been OK had they had any liquor in them, they were pricy without. I seldom drink and don't like the taste of strong liquor, and mine was too weak for me. The food however was great. We had never had tapas, and the broccoli sprouts, the chicken, everything was delicious. I would try it again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambra also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.