We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, relaxed, fun restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zambra

Zambra
85 W Walnut St, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)
(828) 232-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zambra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Haywood Street
Description: Our dynamic menu is the passion of Executive Chef Adam. Adam has attained many influences through his training in Europe and New Orleans. Zambra is his modern vision of the tastes and flavors of the western Mediterranean: Spain, Portugal, Gypsy, and North Africa. As an appropriate accompaniment, we have assembled the region's finest selection of Spanish and New World wines. We have been awarded the Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence and our wine list has been voted the best in Asheville.
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Tasty, relaxed, fun restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Superior tapas - fun environment. This is a place to go to for interesting but filling small plates, good wine, to chat and laugh. We had a wonderful server who put us at us ease. The two stand-out courses were a small plate of scallops in sesame seeds, which was delicious, as was a salad of beets.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    141
    39
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Top Contributor
634 reviews 634 reviews
630 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 253 cities Reviews in 253 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was my first visit and I was very impressed with all aspects of this restaurant. I started with an Asian fish soup that was delicious. Next a bacon Caesar salad and finished with pan seared scallops. All were excellent. Service was fast and friendly. I will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant - try all the dishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Zambra is a fantastic restaurant. It was recommended to us by our B&B host during our visit to Ashville. It's located right downtown and set slightly below street level, interesting decor (ceilings a bit low, walls and dividers had the faux ruins look with peeled away stucco and exposed bricks, painted in muted colors), nice ambience, dimmed lighting. There's a main dining area and a few smaller semi enclosed spaces where the tables are closer together (I preferred larger tables in the main dining room with more elbow room). We got there at around 7 pm on a Wednesday without a reservation and were seated right away. Half an hour later the place was full. The service was friendly and efficient, despite the fact that our waiter had several other tables with groups to tend to. Food was decidedly creative and interesting, nicely presented, every dish had an abundace of unusual savory flavors it was a real treat for the palate. We had 5 plates and 2 desserts for the two of us (there is a menu that changes daily) and it was just the right amount of food. Price was reasonable (about $75 for us including drinks). If we return to Ashville again - which we hope we would! - we'd definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First time in Asheville and was looking for a restaurant close to the Aloft hotel we were staying at. Randomly called another restaurant that had over an hour wait. Called Zambra and they said we could simply walk-in without a reservation. I'm glad we ended up in Zambra because the ambiance was great. Dim and romantic. We tried various tapas and loved all of them. I'd definitely come back here if I'm ever in Asheville again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went to Zambra last week after checking reviews, and we couldn't be happier with our experience. The atmosphere was very nice, even though the restaurant was crowded, and the food was amazing - maybe the best I have had in recent history. The chef's at Zambra really know how to use aromatics, and flavorful ingredients to make some wonderfully tasty dishes. The tapas experience allows you to enjoy several of their delicious items, which we did. We ordered 8 items and all were wonderful. The pork loin special was particularly divine! I recommend Zambra 100%, and we will definitely return each time we visit Asheville!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zambra also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Zambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.