We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just As Good The Second Time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Seed Cafe

Laughing Seed Cafe
40 Wall St, Asheville, NC 28801-2710
828-252-3445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Just As Good The Second Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Because we had eaten here the last time we visited Asheville, we opted to dine here again, since our memories of this place were good. After finally locating it, (everyone in town knew where it was and highly recommended it), we arrived during a time when they were serving their Sunday Brunch.

I chose the Burrito and he ordered the Sooner Sunday Sampler. Both were delicious, prepared to perfection, and we once again highly recommend this vegetarian gem of a restaurant, tucked away in downtown Asheville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    163
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Always A Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I always eat at the Laughing Seed when we visit Asheville. We ate there on a Saturday afternoon about 1:00 PM.

Everything there is all natural and meatless. I had a Cuban sandwich with jalapeño fries. My wife had a black bean burrito. Both were excellent in taste.

Service was better than average but not excellent. They are always busy when we eat there. And this Saturday was not different. Get a table on the street if available and it’s not to hot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place for a good food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate at the Lightning Seed Cafe this evening. All four of us enjoyed excelllent food and drinks. Don't be put off by the fact that the food is vegetarian - all our dishes were simply delicious! A great range of locally-brewed beers are also available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful healthy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I are in the middle of a cross-country road trip, and I'm obsessed with finding the most natural, healthy food in the area everywhere we stop--well, I think I found it in Asheville! This place is soooo delicious, and it doesn't cut corners at all--no white bread or white flour tortillas snuck in--everything is whole grain, fresh, local if possible, all so delicious! We ate here both days we were in Asheville. He had the Tico burrito which was wonderful, and I had the mediterranean salad. The smoothies are also wonderful. If you appreciate wholesome, delicious, vegetarian food, you will be super happy with The Laughing Seed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took advantage of the outdoor seating on a recent visit to this great little cafe. We tried several dishes and shared them, and each one was delicious. Many dishes are served in a way that makes them easy to share, and there are so many great choices!! Our server was very friendly, and the food was served at a nice pace, making our lunch a perfect midday stop. If you like creative veggie food, you can't go wrong here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Seed Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Laughing Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Seed Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.