We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Veggie!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Seed Cafe

Laughing Seed Cafe
40 Wall St, Asheville, NC 28801-2710
828-252-3445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Go Veggie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

During a week visit to Asheville, I was recommended Laughing Seed Cafe (and I am not a Vegetarian). I enjoyed it so much that I went back a second time and brought 2 friends!
Pleasant service and the best vegetarian food I have ever had. The menu was innovative and big. I had a Thai dish the first time and a "Tex-Mex"ish the second time. Delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    163
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We dined outside on a nice patio. The food was very good and service was attentive and pleasant. We would definately return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Vegetarian food for the most die hard carnivore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We aren't vegetarian but we fancied something non-meaty for a change and the food at this place was AMAZING. I had a tofu Chinese dish which was better than anything I had ever eaten in a Chinese restaurant. It was so well flavoured that I could almost identify each spice in it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Miserable bartender ruined it before we started.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten many wonderful meals at Laughing Seed Cafe for well over a decade and enjoyed excellent service. However, not today. We opted to sit at the bar. The not-busy bartender could not be bothered to look up and acknowledge us for about two minutes. She asked if we were getting take out and then sighed audibly when we said we were eating there. Upon serving a glass of water and asking if we wanted additional drinks , she rolled her eyes when I ordered a Bloody Mary because she had to go get more mixer. At that point we decided to leave. Very poor way to treat customers.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Healthy and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A great little place for a healthy lunch. The menu is just different enough to be unusual. The service was good and the plates were more than adequate.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Seed Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Laughing Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Seed Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.