We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Gone Down Hill!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Flame Bistro - Hendersonville

Apollo Flame Bistro - Hendersonville
485 Hendersonville Rd., Forest Edge Shopping Center, Asheville, NC 28803
828-274-3582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Greek, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Has Gone Down Hill!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A friend and I had decided to try this restaurant again for lunch after 3 months of avoiding it because of rude service. We were very sorry that we did. We both ordered the Greek Salad with chicken. The food came fast, lettuce was nothing but ground white center core of iceberg lettuce and the chicken was very tough and chewy like parboiled with no seasoning at all...we could not believe this food. At $7.99 this was not acceptable. This problem was mentioned to 2 different waiters, the cashier ( the female manager was standing right there as we were at the cash registar)...??? All that each one said was oh I am so sorry that happened and nothing was ever corrected...really???....this was the same response we got after mentioning the poor service months ago..? Unbelievable! So there we were with 3/4 of these salads uneaten and still paying for that sorry mess and no one caring enough about there customer to fix this. my friend was never offer a refill on her drink ( I had water) so she ended up paying over $10 for that disaster and by the way the salads that were going out as we were paying were nice and lush and dark green fresh looking.. ??? We were one of the first customers in at 11:30 so I can only assume we got the leftovers from the night before. My friend ended up getting sick back at work....I will NOT forget the taste of that bitter lettuce core for along time. No amount of mints or gum helped....Needless to say we will not go back and we have shared this with many friends today.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A favorite of ours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have always enjoyed great food and excellent service at Apollo Flame Bistro. My favorite is the chicken gryo platter. The chicken is always tender with a wonderful flavor, the pita bread is wonderful and the greek salad is more than plenty. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good for price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Food is good and cheap. server did not know anything about food or drinks on the menu. Overall
Economy dinner hot spot.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“disappointing after 8 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

i was very disappointed in the restaurant on us 25 going south. it is located just south of the inter-state and is in Asheville, NC28803. i had a gyro platter with chicken. the meat was all white and very dry, essentially just a bowl of lettuce, 2 slices of tomato, 3 black olives and cost just under $7. The best that could be said is 98% report of cleanliness from the State; hot water in the clean rest room almost immediately and the place still gives very very fast service. we have had dinners and lunches there for over 8 years; this was a very big disappointment. i always had spaghetti and sausages and knew that you have to tell the wait staff to slow down or else the entree is 2 minutes after the salad. this time i had a lunch that was far far from their historical best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good and Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you like greek food or pizza-- stop here. Plus their service is the fastest of any place I have ever been

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo Flame Bistro - Hendersonville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Apollo Flame Bistro - Hendersonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Flame Bistro - Hendersonville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.