We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great biscuits and pancakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tupelo Honey Cafe

Tupelo Honey Cafe
12 College St., Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-255-4863
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 653 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: What constitutes "New South Flavors?" For us, it is begins with reverence for those time-honored Southern dishes. Served up by wonderful home cooks for years. We respect the freshness, the flavors and the food itself. But we like to jazz it up a little, add something deliciously unexpected to delight your palate. Our interpretation of traditional Southern fare is creative, inventive and satisfyingly scrumptious. Cheers to New South Flavor!
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great biscuits and pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The food at Tupelo Honey Café (THC) is excellent. They start you off with a huge buttermilk biscuit that allows you to understand why they are so treasured in the south. They give you honey or homemade jam to put on it. It is warm from the oven.

Their menu is very interesting and eclectic. As a foodie I loved it. They are famous for their pumpkin pancake with pecans. I ordered one. It is huge, takes up the whole plate and comes with a great syrup. Many people ordered one as a starter it seems. They have real southern strong tea and a great selection of local beers. I got a sampler of four beers which were very good and different. They are packed and there can be a line. If you visit Asheville be sure to try this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,515
    732
    242
    76
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had to visit Asheville on a Sunday night at dinner time and decided to eat at Tupelo Honey since it was nearby. We were amazed to see that even at eight o'clock on a Sunday night that people were still coming in to dine and the restaurant was almost full of diners. We had dined at the other location outside of Asheville for breakfast, but never in town. Our food was wonderful, the service was spot on excellent, and the atmosphere was warm, cozy, and not pretentious. I enjoyed their fine hamburger while my wife had the crabmeat and egg breakfast...which is served all day. Both were great and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. This place has always looked packed, so be willing to wait. It will be worth doing so.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best biscuits I've every had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a great restaurant. We are hook on the quality and portions of this food. Will definitely add it to our list of favorites

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, OH, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food & great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were in Asheville doing our own food tour - going to several places & trying their best dishes (as recommended by the servers). This was our first stop, highly recommended by everybody we talked to. We had goat cheese grits with a spicy shrimp (also had garlic, spinach, mushrooms) It was amazing. We also tried the american egg rolls, they had bbq pork inside. Our waitress was so helpful, we wished we could have stayed here or gone back, it was that good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“YUM... YUM... YUM...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

My partner and I went here on our recent trip to Asheville. We stayed in Downtown Asheville (Aloft on Biltmore Avenue) and Tupelo Honey was in walking distance from our hotel – just a short walk down to College Street. If you are staying in downtown, you can easily walk here. The restaurant is located by several other eateries and bars in a nice little ‘crossroads’ section of Downtown – it might give you some ideas for other places to visit while in the area. It is a small restaurant with not a lot of room inside (also there is a small patio), but that is part of the charm it seems.

They do not take reservations, but you can call ahead to put your name on the list. I am glad I did because when we arrived it was crowded and there was a long wait on a Wednesday evening. After just waiting a few minutes we were seated outside on the heated patio. Instead of the customary bread and butter (at least in the Midwest that is customary) Tupelo Honey served some fresh biscuits with homemade blueberry jam which was quite good (not a fan of the Tupelo Honey). For an appetizer the waitress recommended the Cheesy Grit Cakes. We gave them a shot and they were pretty freaking good. Although I will admit we saw a few orders of the Appalachian Egg Rolls and they looked pretty amazing as well. We wished we had the stomach to try those as well – but maybe next time. For a meal I got the Meatloaf with Mac and Cheese. It was SOOOO good! Like seriously delicious... My partner got the Shoo Mercy and said it was pretty amazing as well.

The service was great and we had no complaints about our experience here. It really was one of our best meals while in Asheville. Absolutely stop by when in Asheville!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tupelo Honey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.