We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, but what a wait.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tupelo Honey Cafe

Tupelo Honey Cafe
12 College St., Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-255-4863
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: While we revere the time-honored traditions of the Southern cook, you will find our take on the Southern plate a little different. Because Tupelo Honey Cafe is a little different. Our transformation of just about everything Southern - from fried chicken to sweet potatoes to catfish - is decidedly spirited, independent, and frequently unscripted. Creativity rules in our kitchen where our larder is filled with scratch-made, inventive goodness. We ratchet up our flavors so they're on par with the farm-fresh produce we love. And we serve it all with a healthy measure of fun - with our heartfelt promise of delivering an experience worthy of the memories that tend to be made around our table.
Chicago, Il
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing, but what a wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Scratch made southern food. Damn its good. I think everything I tasted here was exquisite. It even holds up being from a serious food town. The biscuits are amazing and free. The pecan pie was great. Only downside is that there is a huge waiting list. We tried a couple nights and it was over an hour every time. Eventually we just gave them a number and went to a nearby bar to wait. Glad we did.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,399
    658
    219
    71
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great selection and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I haved tried to get in here before. It seems there is always a wait but you can walk around downtown and they contact you when its time. Fun place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Make sure you eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food was unique and delicious and the service was excellent. Everything on the menu looks amazing, but firsthand: The Wings are amazing and so are the scallops. We loved that they brought biscuits and fresh jam to get you warmed up for the main attractions :) Wish we had eaten here both nights we were in Asheville. Sit outside on the heated patio and enjoy a bottle of wine as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp and Grits EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm still dreaming about their shrimp and grits with goat cheese - it was heavenly. I also had the beer sampler which was really fun and I enjoyed all of the microbrews I tasted. Charming little place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis,TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Now that's a biscuit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wonderful wait staff, great food. Will visit again when in asheville.
That onion soup was wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tupelo Honey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.