We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tupelo Honey Cafe

Tupelo Honey Cafe
12 College St., Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-255-4863
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 624 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: While we revere the time-honored traditions of the Southern cook, you will find our take on the Southern plate a little different. Because Tupelo Honey Cafe is a little different. Our transformation of just about everything Southern - from fried chicken to sweet potatoes to catfish - is decidedly spirited, independent, and frequently unscripted. Creativity rules in our kitchen where our larder is filled with scratch-made, inventive goodness. We ratchet up our flavors so they're on par with the farm-fresh produce we love. And we serve it all with a healthy measure of fun - with our heartfelt promise of delivering an experience worthy of the memories that tend to be made around our table.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We liked it so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We loved the food at Tupelo Honey cafe! The shrimp and grits for dinner and the sweet potato pancake for breakfast....oh me! Great place to dine

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    1,201
    555
    178
    64
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

When we arrived at the restaurant around 5:30PM, we were told it would be a 45min-1hr wait. We had heard so many great things about this restaurant that we decided to wait. We walked over to Tall Gary's and enjoyed a few beers while waiting. They were right on the money with the wait time. Luckily, we were seated at the bar. Best seat in the house! The cooks include you in the experience, and even let you try a few samples. My husband had the pulled pork and I had the shrimp and grits which were both excellent. Whatever you do, don't pass on the biscuits with the local tupelo honey. Best biscuits and honey I've ever had! We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were unable to get reservations in time for a local restaurant that is a favorite of ours so our friends suggested the Tupelo Honey Cafe on Hendersonville Road. The strip mall exterior played into all of my worst fears about second choices-but I was very pleasantly surprised by both the quality of the service and the taste of the food. I asked the waiter for a suggestion and he suggested the shrimp and grits. They were excellent. The shrimp were very well cooked and the sauce really brought out the flavor well. Others in the party had a salad and their comments were as positive as mine. We did not have dessert so I can't comment on that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfort Food Extraordinaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

One thing I don't do well is wait for a table. At 4:45 pm on a Friday night the Tupelo Honey Cafe had a 30 minute wait. Oh what to do. My wife and I headed straight for the chef's table (aka kitchen bar) where there were a number of stools available.
The food has been well documented in T/A reviews. We had the meat loaf and the trout. Both were excellent! We will go back. I want to try their sweet potato pancakes for breakfast next time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“THE DOWNTOWN LOCATION had old-school charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Downtown location of THCafe is awesome for atmosphere and charm, it looks like this is the original location. It is super busy and there was a waiting area that was always full, but parties were being sat quickly. Service was really good and the staff was laid back and casual. The food was WOW! Very good - they offer both spicy and non-spicy selections.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tupelo Honey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.