We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...jumpin' spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tupelo Honey Cafe

Tupelo Honey Cafe
12 College St., Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-255-4863
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 626 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: While we revere the time-honored traditions of the Southern cook, you will find our take on the Southern plate a little different. Because Tupelo Honey Cafe is a little different. Our transformation of just about everything Southern - from fried chicken to sweet potatoes to catfish - is decidedly spirited, independent, and frequently unscripted. Creativity rules in our kitchen where our larder is filled with scratch-made, inventive goodness. We ratchet up our flavors so they're on par with the farm-fresh produce we love. And we serve it all with a healthy measure of fun - with our heartfelt promise of delivering an experience worthy of the memories that tend to be made around our table.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Good food...jumpin' spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

You might have to wait a few minutes @ Tupelo Honey, but it's worth it! Good draft beer options for me and a Chardonnay for my wife. I put my carbs aside and had the fried chicken BLT (big sandwich!). My wife had the tomato soup...just OK on her end.
Good, quick, service from the wait staff...need that approach given the customers lined up.
A bit noisy, but it's that kind of spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    1,204
    557
    179
    64
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A "Must Visit" Asheville Eatery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tupelo Honey Cafe is by far one of my favorite places in Asheville. I typically visit the area two to three times a year, and every single time I make this one of my stops. The food is fresh and wonderful, not to mention local. The grits are always wonderful, the biscuits are top notch, and everything I have tried on the menu has been delicious! There is typically a little bit of a wait for a table, so make sure you plan accordingly. Wait staff has always been very pleasant, knowledgeable, and prompt. Make sure you check it out!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This restaurant is a must stop every visit we make to Asheville! We took our families here for breakfast the day before our wedding in October of last year and they still rave about it! The staff is super friendly and we can't say enough about the food! Fabulous biscuits, amazing grits, awesome fried chicken over biscuits and gravy (what!!!)! This place is truly a gem that is worth going! It is even worth the wait! Really really really you have to go here!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Got there when it opened so we didn't have to wait. Food came quick and our server, Sean, was great. Everything we had (eggs, grits, biscuits, gravy, bacon) was outstanding! We highly recommend Tupelo Honey Cafe in downtown Asheville!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went there for dinner on Mothers Day hoping for a special experience and it just wasn't quite there. Just seems to have lost its zing from a few years ago. Just to try something different, I had the "Grateful Dead" black bean burger, which the menu said was one of their most popular items. Jerry would be SO upset that you attach his name to this--it was ok, just nothing special. Both my wife and I ordered the Brussels sprouts and were again disappointed. She and our daughter did like the goat cheese grits and the parmesan corn. But the tomato soup served with the grilled cheese was just ok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tupelo Honey Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.