We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wake - The Foot Sanctuary

Wake - The Foot Sanctuary
The Grove Arcade, 1 Page Avenue, Suite 115, Asheville, NC 28801
8285759799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 102 Activities in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wake Foot Sanctuary Shop, located in the Historic Grove Arcade in downtown Asheville provides Asheville regulars and tourists alike a mini retreat for the feet, the mind, and the soul. Wake specializes in luxurious foot soaks served up to guests in hand-hammered copper bowls as they relax on soft couches and deep seated chairs. The soaks are prepared with care and provide a fragrant, rejuvenating, and moisturizing experience. Massage ad-ons are also offered across head, neck, & shoulders; foot & lower leg ; and hand & lower arm. Guests can order and sip on a personal pot of tea, enjoy some mini desserts, or just come and "be" for a while. Soaks are the primary service and cost between $20-$30 for a 45 minute experience. Massage add-ons start at $30 and range to $70 and can be done in either 20 minute or 40 minute increments. The massage happens while you soak. Guests come in, remove shoes and socks to don slippers and are then escorted back into the sanctuary to begin their foot soak experience. Appointments are not necessary but are highly recommended, particularly for parties over 4 and weekend visits.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I was in Asheville for the weekend and decided to check out Wake at the Grove Arcade. After an exhausting day of walking, a Wake foot soak & massage is exactly what I needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The foot sanctuary is well appointed with everything needed to make for a relaxing experience. As an added bonus they also offer a variety of hot teas and sweet snacks. I had both and they were a delicious addition. After my soak, I felt relaxed and rejuvenated enough to shop the Wake boutique. They have unique finds and I went home with some beautiful jewelry and body scrub. Wake is a must every time I go to Asheville!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
115Wake, Owner at Wake - The Foot Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your sweet words and very informative review of the Foot Sanctuary experience. It makes us so happy to know that you thought enough of your visit to write a review. We appreciate you. Truly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful respite and very therapeutic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a "found" experience while wandering through The Grove Arcade, gripping a horribly sore neck/shoulder muscle and wishing out loud to a companion "if only there were one of those places where you could get a mini-massage close by..." Whoa. Hold on what's that?? The staff at Wake were very kind and accommodating. The foot soak part is mandatory as that is their business model. The neck/shoulder massage is an add-on. In combination they were exactly the thing needed to repair the damage of sleeping on a too-fat pillow the night before. The Rose-Sea Salt soak, apparently quite popular, was soothing and wonderfully aromatic. Tanya was the massage therapist and she did a great job working on the problem area. It made all the difference in the rest of our visit.
Here's the process - after selecting from a menu of possible soaks and any other extras you remove your shoes, don slippers, and are escorted up a ramp and into the communal sitting area. This was a Friday morning and the room was empty. After placing a warm neck wrap, your therapist leaves the room and eventually returns wheeling a low platform with a large copper-hued bowl on top, filled about halfway with a milky rose-petal strewn bath (or whatever your choice happens to be) She eases your feet up and over into the bowl and then leaves you to relax on the comfortable sofa (or chair). There is soft music playing and the lighting is low. Undoubtedly this is when some may fall asleep. After a period of relaxation, the additional massage begins. You do not remove clothing for this. This is not a muscle-wrenching massage but a gentle kneading style intended to further the relaxation process.
Once the 20 minute massage was complete she replaces the neck wrap and offers a warm-up for the foot bath. After many more minutes she returns to carefully dry your feet and offer a selection of talcs. You then return to the main store to put shoes back on and pay up. Totally worth every cent. This was about a 45 minute visit but could easily have been longer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
115Wake, Owner at Wake - The Foot Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank YOUUUUUUUU so much for this uber informative and complimentary review. I think that you have truly helped us to communicate what Wake is all about and what type of experience guests can expect when they come, from start to finish. We appreciate the time it took you to write this review and to make Trip Advisor what it is to so many travelers and reviewers.

Your thoughtfulness is greatly appreciated.

Melissa & Wake Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A luxurious treat for your feet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I started off a date night at Wake. I received a 45 minute chocolate foot soak and a 20 minute foot/lower leg massage. He got the “Salty Beach Rose” foot soak and a neck/shoulders massage. The soaks smelled heavenly and our feet were so clean and smooth afterwards! We also enjoyed some lavender shortbreads, mini-cupcakes, and tea during our pampering. A wonderful experience and affordable too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
115Wake, Owner at Wake - The Foot Sanctuary, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Wowwww. What an amazing response and the pictures are sooooo awesome!!!!!! We love it!!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write an informative review. We loved having you and your hubby in for such a sweet date idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wake - The Foot Sanctuary also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Wake - The Foot Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wake - The Foot Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.