We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cecilia's Kitchen

Cecilia's Kitchen
961 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28804
(828)545-9107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: French, Latin
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's all about the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice little place tucked away off of Merrimon Avenue. Little atmosphere with a couple of tables and a counter along the window. But the food is awesome, inexpensive and the ingredients local. Whether it is an empanada, tamale or crepe with a cup of homemade soup, it is created before your eyes and is so tasty. If you are looking for a fancy place to impress your girlfriend, look elsewhere. But if you want some exceptional eats, you have arrived.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A different, small, but very nice place to have lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Visited Cecilia's as a result of review here.
My wife had the beef empanada, and I had a crepe.
Both were very tasty, and very fresh. The service was adequate, even if we give the waitress a break because it was her first day.
Cecilia herself visits the table and ensures the food is good.
Clean, small, adequate, and very good food.
A great place to lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Little known secret gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cecilia herself cooks and serves too if necessary. Don't miss the desert crepes Large enough to share. The empanadas are so tasty. I recommend the chicken as well as the eggplant for the non meat eaters. Had the banana, chocolate, walnut I think crepe as well. Had to be carried out!
Best to park across the street due to very limited parking, maybe 6-8 spots max!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cecilia's Kitchen is a small venue with an open kitchen and has a small, but very tasty menu. Prices are very reasonable. We had Tamales & Empanadas & will definitely go back to try the Crepes. Parking can be a challenge, but don't let that stop you from trying this delicious little restaurant in Asheville.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful Empanadas, Tamales, & Crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I found Cecilia's Kitchen during the early afternoon, after the lunch hour, although you have to look closely while traveling on Merrimon Avenue in Asheville, NC. The restaurant, which appears to be a redsigned older house, sits a little off the road on a hillside, with a small parking lot adjacent to the street. But don't let the appearance or location deter you from fine Argentinian-style foods. The restaurant serves up delicious meals. There is a covered outside porch with tables or you can sit inside at dining bars or tables. The atmosphere is casual, but the food is elegant.

We ordered the beef Empanada, which has a wonderful blend of flavors, including olives, onions and a delicious beef, and is accompanied by a small salad. We also enjoyed the Tamale special of the day, which was probably the best Tamale I have ever had. Freshly prepared and very tasty. The Empanadas are finger food in Argentina, according to Cecilia, which can be enjoyed like American pizza. If there is a better beef Empanada in the area, we haven't found it. We also had a dessert crepe, which was their chocolate and fresh raspberry crepe with fresh whipped cream and fresh raspberries on top. Wonderful dessert!

The restaurant serves a variety of sodas and tea, but no wine or beer. Cecilia and her staff not only serve wonderful fare, but are very friendly and helpful in explaining various dishes. Prices are extremely reasonable and the portions plentiful. Cecilia accepts personal checks and cash. They also serve a Saturday brunch from 9am until 3pm. If you're in the mood for Latin/French comfort food, you owe it to yourself to go to Cecilia's Kitchen. The limited parking is worth the effort to find a parking place nearby. You will enjoy the laid back, casual dining, and wonderful food at Cecilia's Kitchen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecilia's Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Cecilia's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecilia's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.