We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Asian Buffet, great prices, good variety” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yao Buffet Sushi Grill

Yao Buffet Sushi Grill
153 Smoky Park Hwy, Asheville, NC 28806
(828) 667-0410
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Anchorage, AK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Basic Asian Buffet, great prices, good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Clean, great selection of American and Asian foods. Nice decor - seating is a little open and cafeteria style for my taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's a buffet, not innovative Asian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family really likes Yao. The price is excellent, the food has been fresh and tasty the 4 times we have been there, the wait staff are attentive and friendly. I have talked to friends and have read reviews on other sites that slam Yao's 'bland' food, uninspired recipes, decor, etc. This is a buffet not a French bistro with a Michelin Star, or a Sushi bar in Toyko. For an Asian buffet this place is great! The sushi they have is good but don't expect dragon or caterpillar rolls. When I go there, I expect lots of fresh tasty food, and have not yet been disappointed. In December, we had guests from San Francisco, and Washington D.C., and all our guests, adults and children alike, were satisfied with their meal. If you like buffets you will love Yao. I usually dislike buffets, but really like Yao for their fresh food and great selection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoy eating at Yao's. The variety is great and I really like the sushi. It has recently been renovated and redecorated. It is a great place for large gatherings or family get-togethers.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“your typical chinese buffet with a bit more options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There are a number of menu items that can be found in many Chinese buffet, including a small selection of sushi. Some items were delicious, while others were overcooked (such as the salmon). However, our waiter was nice and the price was right.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Asiana Buffet is now Yao Buffet & Grill - Asheville, NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I had eaten at the Asiana Buffet in Asheville several times in the past. I was in the area recently and when I drove up it had been renamed Yao Buffet and Grille. It had new decor through out but the buffet looked as good as ever. And it was! There were many savory delights. Plus they grill and stir fry to your taste. This is still a can't miss buffet. Yao did not miss a beat. Outstanding value. Cuisine to suit everyone. Absolute value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yao Buffet Sushi Grill also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Yao Buffet Sushi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yao Buffet Sushi Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.