We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real New Orleans Cuisine in Asheville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Ray

Magnolia Ray
72 Weaverville Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804
828 258 5228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 624 restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm,casual space that has something for everyone-from burgers to a fine salmon-paired with local brews and distinctive wines.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Real New Orleans Cuisine in Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband is from New Orleans and it's also one of our favorite places in the world to visit -- largely because of the wonderful food. Lots of restaurants claim to have "Cajun" or "New Orleans" dishes, but they never do.

If you love New Orleans as much as we do, you have to go to Magnolia Ray's in North Asheville. The chef is real and the food is absolutely wonderful. He even has the right bread brought up from Louisianna for his scrumptious po-boys. If you want real gumbo or red beans and rice or a more elaborate Cajun feast, don't miss Magnolia Ray's. I promise you won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    27
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely owners and truly fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food is so good that you will wish you lived in the Ashville area--hubby loves the bbq shrimp and well, the burger, the burger made me forget that most of the time I am a vegetarian. If you're going off the veggie wagon, do it here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HIdden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

when passing through we stopped at this restaurant. the staff was super friendly and truly made us feel welcome. everything we had was delicious. yes i sampled my friends dishes. i had the magnolia ray burger which was to die for. but if you what a burger but don't way a burger they have a nice twist on that called the burger in a bowl and its like a burger salad which my friend had. we also had dessert which was amazing the molten lava cake was.....well just WOW. not to mention the coffee was delicious. defiantly a place to stop at if passing through or even to add to your trip as a destination.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Food! Wonderful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a visit to Asheville. We had dinner at Magnolia Ray while visiting in April and enjoyed it so much we had to go again while there this week. The food is wonderful. We have never been disappointed in our meals. We have tried something different each time we are there. We have never had a bad meal. Service is good. The owners make you feel so special. They say you cannot judge a book by its cover......Magnolia Ray is a hidden gem! Try it next time you are in Asheville, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Acceptable But Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've had red beans and rice with andouille sausage and an oyster po boy. These things were okay, but certainly nothing that would make me want to return. The side I ordered with the po boy, orzo salad, was so bland that the only way to make it edible was to pour hot sauce on it. As well, the banquette seating is very uncomfortable because there is a protruding piece of wood that forces one's upper back to lean forward.

The menu is very uninspired and, for the most part, has little to do with New Orleans. I can't recommend this restaurant, and I will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiniK_13, Owner at Magnolia Ray, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Once again, we thank you for your feedback. We value our customers and appreciate when they take the time to write a review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. As you know, we strive for excellence and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Ray also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Magnolia Ray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Ray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.