We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reason to go back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of City Bakery

City Bakery
88 Charlotte Street, Asheville, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Exton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“No reason to go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

They had a very small selection of baked breakfast items. Had the cinnamon roll which was (barely) average. Bagel was more like a croissant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    1
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stop by and was going to purchase some bakery goods and the door was not locked I said to the guy what I wanted he very rudely said we are closed he was not doing anything and if he had been closed then why was the door not locked ,needless to say I have told my friends and I want be back .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great cafe with lots of delicious decisions to make!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stuffed French Toast and latte was a great start to the morning..if we had gone for lunch, the Turkey Day Turkey with brie and apple chutney panini would have been mine..all mine! Cool atmosphere, too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Great Start to the Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I went to this locally favorite bakery/cafe with some gift cards. We had sausage and egg biscuits that were tasty and very filling. We were especially impressed with the cheese and the slightly but not overpoweringly spicy edge to the meal and were about to leave when it was clear that we had a bit more on the card and decided to take a pastry home for later. Unlike our wonderful breakfast and fresh coffee, this pastry was so stale that it obviously was sitting there from yesterday. This is disappointing from a place that prides itself on being "better", "fresher" and "healthier" than similar establishments. Overall, however, this is a great place to come on a lazy weekend morning to eat a tasty meal and have an ambience that encourages good conversation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Go Here For Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I visited City Bakery on our last day of vacation in Asheville. I wish we had visited there first. We may not have gone anywhere else! The bacon,egg and cheese on a biscuit was absolutely delicious as was the sausage and egg. The biscuits themselves are really good, laced with cheddar and scallions. We took a bear claw, peanut butter cookie and a chocolate croissant to go since we were planning a long drive toward Long Island. They were terrific and we wished we had bought more to bring with us. This restaurant is a must!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bakery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to City Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.