We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSED MARCH 2013” 1 of 5 stars
Review of chelsea's cafe and tea room - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
chelsea's cafe and tea room
6 Boston Way, Asheville, NC
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“CLOSED MARCH 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chelsea's Tea Room is closed as of March 2013. Although the sign on the door states that they are looking for a new location, none has been located yet.

So sad - this was the heart of downtown Biltmore Village. All that's left is a few independent stores and a bunch of chain stores (think Chico's and Ann Taylor).

Biltmore Village is depressing now. Shop at the independents and avoid the chains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tea Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to visit in Asheville. The service is always excellent and the food is incredible! They also have a wonderful selection of teas. My mom, sisters, and I come here and celebrate birthdays often and love to have any excuse to visit. This is a must for all tea lovers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint Asheville Tea Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had shopped at Chelsea's in the Biltmore Village several times in the past, and we often walked through, but had never tried the tea room. A lot of tea rooms have shops inside, but this one somehow seems more like a shop with a tea room inside. I believe they had expanded the tea room since our previous visit, but it still seemed a little cramped for our party of 6. The decor is quite well done, the food is good ( the dessert portions are huge). and the service is great. Chelsea's in the Village is a nice place to have tea and lunch in a beautiful part of a wonderful town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A true tea room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stopped here for lunch before going to tour the Biltmore estate, in part because the line at the Corner Restaurant across the street was just too long. I had a very nice salad and my companion ordered soup and a half sandwich. I think my salad was more successful than my friend's lunch, but both were good, if a bit pricey.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy place with tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We go lucky and just walked in without a reservation for Sunday brunch and got a table for 3. We beat the crowds at 11:30. The gravy biscuits with fruit were enjoyed by my sons and I enjoyed the quiche and fruit. The service was very good too!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chelsea's cafe and tea room also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage chelsea's cafe and tea room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.