We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce walk with good views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craggy Gardens

Craggy Gardens
Craggy Gardens Visitor Center, 195 Hemphill Knob Road, Asheville, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 177 things to do in Asheville
Attraction details
Shepherd, Montana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“NIce walk with good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Even though it was misty and cold, I enjoyed getting out of the car and stretching my legs. The signage was confusing - keep going from Asheville till you come to the tunnels then you know you're in the right place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    38
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Never a bad view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Many people hesitate to hike the Craggy Garden Pinnacle trail if there is fog. Keep going! About 150 ft into the trail are the "trees from middle earth". You can't miss it on the trail. The trunk of the tree arches to the ground and provides a circular window to the other side of the trail. In fog this picture is magical. Have someone take your picture looking through the hole. Then continue to the top where a 360 degree view awaits you. There are benches and a stone wall at the top, so even if you are afraid of hights, so you can safely enjoy the view

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Short hike & fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just past the gift shop and visitor center a trail leads to craggy dome. This short hike gives you an unbelievable view of the area. You don't realize that you are over 5000' . We started in the clouds but it cleared as we reached the summit. This is a must hike for all ages.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
“Weather Bugs will love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've been to Craggy Gardens a few times now. But the most spectacular was when, on a day with singular, dark clouds drifting over, I stood at the pinnacle deck and watched as one cloud wafted up the mountain and washed right over me. Shrouded completely, it was a singular experience of being absolutely engulfed in the ethers of time. After a few minutes the cloud passed and the sinking sun once again appeared across the slopes below. It was like descending through the atmosphere back to planet earth. I'll never forget it.

You feel utterly on top of the mountain range and get a fantastic view of changing conditions.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS views, you won't believe you are in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Get to Craggy Gardens! The views are delightful and inspiring. You get to the viewpoint and won't believe you are in the US - it is so immensely beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craggy Gardens also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Craggy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craggy Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.