We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stop to cool off from the heat....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battery Park Book Exchange

Battery Park Book Exchange
1 Page Ave, Suite 101, Asheville, NC
828-252-0020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: http://www.batteryparkbookexchange.com/
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick stop to cool off from the heat....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very warm atmosphere - tons of books to browse through, wine, coffee, snacks. Dog friendly, so if you don't like dogs, this may not be the place to stop. I did decide once to leave when there were 6 large dogs in the aisles. Another time however, it was a perfect stop for a glass of wine and snack - to get my thoughts together on what else I wanted to shop for in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    38
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very relaxing atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were here and found it to be a very relaxing atmosphere for a glass of wine and an unwind. Staff was very nice and helpful. Even the other patrons were friendly. The wine selection was also outstanding. Go here, sit down, have a glass of wine and relax. You will be happy you did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Books and booze great combination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a fun place! You have to visit you walk around the bookstore and get lost in between finding people having wine parties! It's great fun

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville,NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh. Old books and expensive snacks.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I met here with friends a few times. Service was either pushy (e.g. hurry up and order something) or impossible to find. I'm puzzled by TA including this as a restaurant. They serve wine, beer, and snacks. Be prepared for the usual Asheville tourist mark-up. If you think you found a quiet place to sit and chat, just wait for the assault of amplified live music to disturb the peace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quirky, amazing, cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I LOVE this bookstore. It is dog friendly (I didn't have one, but got to play with a few!) and has plenty of wine, coffee and snacks to keep you comfortable as you browse the shelves and shelves of books. This bookstore alone makes me want to move to Asheville. Really friendly wait staff, lots of nooks, wifi, and fun. Definitely check it out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battery Park Book Exchange also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Battery Park Book Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery Park Book Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.