We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western North Carolina Nature Center

Western North Carolina Nature Center
75 Gashes Creek Road, Asheville, NC 28805
828-259-8080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 176 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Animal center features an educational farm with livestock, small animals and poultry, plus a wide variety of animals on display, from bears and bats to spiders and snakes.
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“enjoyed the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Found this from an add and am glad we did. Very well set up. Educational and enjoyable. Will go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    109
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“easy stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

nice fall colors to see and mountain stream runs thru it.easy stroll close to town.visitors center good and many plants are marked along the paths

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to learn before embarking for the Blue Ridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There is an entire history of the NC Blue Ridge for you to learn from, I believe this is a great place for children to touch, look and learn history. The crafts by the locals are incredible and I alway leave with a new basket ! They have so many helpful people to help you with your trip and all with the wonderful ideas. You can have a picnic there if you desire, walk some of the trails. The restroom are always beyond clean . I consider this a must stop for newbies to the area. There are also classes that are offered on various weekends, just call ahead for schedule.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Small, Average "Zoo."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I took the kids there a few weeks ago. It was just ok. I wouldnt go back though. Admission is cheap, but there isnt alot to see. Deer shouldnt be an exhibit as you can see them all over the place in the South, not to mention the exhibit they were kept in had grass so high you couldnt see anything anyway. A couple of bears, Mountain Lions, and Otters and your done.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Local animals in a sympathetic environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A very well designed and maintained wildlife park with indigenous NC animals, including black bears. We went on a holiday weekend in the autumn, and it was busy, but good fun. Excellent signage and information about the animals. Good for adults and children.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western North Carolina Nature Center also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Western North Carolina Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western North Carolina Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.