We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grovewood Gallery

Grovewood Gallery
111 Grovewood Road, Asheville, NC 28804
+1 828-253-7651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 176 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Grovewood Gallery is a fine crafts destination that showcases traditional and contemporary crafts, all handmade by American artisans. We feature jewelry, pottery, glass, fiber art, ironwork, and outdoor sculpture, as well as an extensive collection of studio furniture and fine wood art. Grovewood is located in a beautiful, historic setting adjacent to The Omni Grove Park Inn in North Asheville. We are family owned and operated. Also located on the Grovewood grounds are the Estes-Winn Antique Car Museum, the North Carolina Homespun Museum, and Grovewood Studios (working artist studios). Free parking for patrons is available.
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We make it a point to visit here when we are in town. Two floors of beautiful and affordable handmade crafts from throughout the US. Great pottery and glass, and the furniture is amazing

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    61
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Givatayim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A lovely gallery and museum, all free and close to city center. Both us and the kids enjoyed (the small kids can't touch anything though...)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although basically just an art gallery, car museum, and cafe. The Grovewood Gallery is a nice place to spend an hour and a half when visiting Asheville. The sculpture garden is nice. (The nude status of the woman with antlers growing out of her back is pretty disturbing, however.x)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Found this jewel on tripadvisor and decided to check it out on our trip. We have been to Asheville many times, and even stayed at the Grove Park Inn, but had no idea the gallery was there. So glad we found it. The car museum was so interesting, as was the Industries museum. Learned more about local history, which is always a plus for me. And the gallery had so beautiful locally created items. It was a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Car museum and cottage industry museum are fantastic and free!
Guide is very informed and gave us a great tour. The artisan store is full of fascinating items all made by local artists.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grovewood Gallery also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Grovewood Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grovewood Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.