We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Birthday Cake EVER !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Donatelli Cake Designs

Karen Donatelli Cake Designs
57 Haywood St., Asheville, NC
828.225.5751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Bakeries in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Asheville
Level Contributor
122 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Cake EVER !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stopped in Karen Donatelli's shop in Asheville for my birthday and had the most delicious cake EVER !!! It was a dark chocolate rasberry torte cake, with fresh chocolate dipped strawberries, and fresh blueberries and raspberries surrounded by a dark chocolate sauce and raspberry sauce. The cake was TO DIE FOR !!! It made my day. The Donatelli family has made us feel like family every time we're in there......It is an honor as well as a pleasure
to have them on our neighborhood's block. Abby and I love you guys!!! If you live in or ever
visit Asheville, NC .... you MUST stop in this place. Simply the best !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow! Delicacies as delicious as they are art to the eye! In a hard-core food town, Karen Donatelli impresses those with the highest standards. Don't miss this shop!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshevilleDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Donatelli Bakery creates a tasty and uplifting confidence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My first stop in Asheville for the Small Plate Crawl lands me with a possible Internship with Karen and her Husband. Both Baker's have attened classes at The Culinary Institute of America in New York. Karen and the girl behind the counter we're very friendly, and open to tell me about the business. The dessert I enjoyed during my visit consist of three seperate Pastries. The first an Almond-Raspberry-Pistachi mini-cake which had a delicate cloud texture and great flavor combination. The second dessert is a Cherry-Brandy Tart which did have a slightly harder crust, but amazing flavor profile. Finaly, my personal favorite, a caramel chocolate mousse to die for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shedlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful and top quality pastries...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As good as anywhere in Europe. You will not be disappointed! The brioche are delicious. Her cakes are beautiful works of art.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALP62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Catering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Attending a symphony fund raiser today (Feb. 18, 2013 ) we were presented a wonderful lunch. The croissants, quiches , tarts and petit fours were big hits with the crowd. When we were told that they were made by Karen Donatelli , most everyone there admitted we were regular customers of her cafe and bakery.
We eat there weekly and believe she is the best baker Asheville has to offer.
Bon Appetit !

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Donatelli Cake Designs also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Karen Donatelli Cake Designs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing