We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Birthday Cake EVER !!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Donatelli Cake Designs

Karen Donatelli Cake Designs
57 Haywood St., Asheville, NC
828.225.5751
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 633 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Asheville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Cake EVER !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stopped in Karen Donatelli's shop in Asheville for my birthday and had the most delicious cake EVER !!! It was a dark chocolate rasberry torte cake, with fresh chocolate dipped strawberries, and fresh blueberries and raspberries surrounded by a dark chocolate sauce and raspberry sauce. The cake was TO DIE FOR !!! It made my day. The Donatelli family has made us feel like family every time we're in there......It is an honor as well as a pleasure
to have them on our neighborhood's block. Abby and I love you guys!!! If you live in or ever
visit Asheville, NC .... you MUST stop in this place. Simply the best !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Wow! Delicacies as delicious as they are art to the eye! In a hard-core food town, Karen Donatelli impresses those with the highest standards. Don't miss this shop!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Donatelli Bakery creates a tasty and uplifting confidence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My first stop in Asheville for the Small Plate Crawl lands me with a possible Internship with Karen and her Husband. Both Baker's have attened classes at The Culinary Institute of America in New York. Karen and the girl behind the counter we're very friendly, and open to tell me about the business. The dessert I enjoyed during my visit consist of three seperate Pastries. The first an Almond-Raspberry-Pistachi mini-cake which had a delicate cloud texture and great flavor combination. The second dessert is a Cherry-Brandy Tart which did have a slightly harder crust, but amazing flavor profile. Finaly, my personal favorite, a caramel chocolate mousse to die for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful and top quality pastries...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As good as anywhere in Europe. You will not be disappointed! The brioche are delicious. Her cakes are beautiful works of art.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Catering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Attending a symphony fund raiser today (Feb. 18, 2013 ) we were presented a wonderful lunch. The croissants, quiches , tarts and petit fours were big hits with the crowd. When we were told that they were made by Karen Donatelli , most everyone there admitted we were regular customers of her cafe and bakery.
We eat there weekly and believe she is the best baker Asheville has to offer.
Bon Appetit !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen Donatelli Cake Designs also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Karen Donatelli Cake Designs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Donatelli Cake Designs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.