We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merry Wives, Merry Audience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Montford Park Players

The Montford Park Players
92 Gay Street, Asheville, NC 28802
828 254-5146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 102 Activities in Asheville
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: North Carolina's longest running Shakespeare Festival, the Montford Park Players presents free classical theatre under the stars all summer long - donations are welcome. The Montford Park Players also presents an indoor season from October through April at Asheville's historic Masonic Temple downtown.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Merry Wives, Merry Audience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

They clearly UNDERSTOOD what they were saying.
They brought the characters and situations to hilarious life and it was the PERFECT introduction to Asheville.

We can't wait to see another production. Thank you MPP!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontfordParkPlayers, General Manager at The Montford Park Players, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for sharing with us! We strive to make our guests' experience the best it can be, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
John Russell, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    17
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun and quirky and FREE (but it is worth a donation)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is one of our favorite things to do. You can pack a picnic and enjoy the plays. It is very family friendly (and dog). There is large terraced seating. You can bring a blanket or a chair.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you like Shakespeare and being outdoor, this is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I wanted to avoid the craziness of the Bele Chere festival so we gave the Montford Park Players a shot and boy were we happy with our decision. We saw the Merry Wives of Windsor and it was very funny. You can tell all of the cast really loves doing it and they all have a great sense of humor. Some of the costumes were a bit odd (such as a dancing bear in a green tutu) but it added to the humor factor. We brought chairs but it did look like they had a stack of chairs there you could borrow from if you didn't feel like dragging one down the hill. Please note that I said hill there. You do have to walk down a small hill to get there. I think the crowd was a little light because everyone was at the festival so it's probably safer to bring a chair if you don't like sitting on wood beams. Our only regret was that we ate a late lunch and didn't feel like eating dinner until after the show. It would have been fun to have a picnic there. If you are in Asheville in the summer, definately go. It's free but donations are accepted and trust me, you will want to give them something!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Little Known Asheville Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Bring your lawn chairs, your blankets, and your bucket of chicken (or bottle of wine) as these thespians rock Shakespear and other high arts theater. Held rain or shine, the rain often misses and the actors are spot on. When they pass the hat during intermission, give until it hurts (a little) to keep this tradition alive.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful play in a great location with actors who enjoyed the performance as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

This was our second play at this venue and we loved it! We recently saw Midsummer Night's Dream and we have never laughed so hard at a play. The costumes and set design were great. The actors were amazing. Thanks go to a wonderful director as well. Plus the summer performances are free, just donations are accepted. We all need to support local art and this group gives a lot of themselves and their time and talents. Outdoor plays are so much fun here. Bring chairs or blankets and a picnic. Snacks and drinks are available. Get there early for closer parking. Kids had a great time too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Montford Park Players also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to The Montford Park Players? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Montford Park Players, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.