We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfult tastes, colors and bargain prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western North Carolina Farmers Market

Western North Carolina Farmers Market
570 Brevard Road, Asheville, NC 28806
828-253-1691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 47 shopping in Asheville
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delightfult tastes, colors and bargain prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This farmers market rates up there, ok not as large as the Union Square FM, NYC, but super fresh and delectable! Shop where the farm to table chefs shop. Try a fresh pretzel or vegan frozen yogurt, Yummy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small and poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is not worth the hype. Very small and the stands are all repetitive. Also did not feel it was very clean and many of the booths were old and dust laden. Does not compare at all to the market in Charleston. This is very low end in feel.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good spot for fresh produce”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a logical choice for the freshest produce in the area. However, this is not the best farmers market I have ever been to by a long shot! Forget anything except produce here. Cheeses are run of the mill, breads are average. Stick with locally grown items.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great local produce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We love this place! Huge veggies, local and fresh, some of the best fruit we've ever had. Local Amish cheeses and butter. Hand made local crafts, candy, and OH MY the jams are fabulous! Be sure to go down the hill to the commercial local growers if you want big quantities.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Never seen one this large before - great produce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been to Asheville many time and never bothered to check out the Farmer's market. We were there for the day and finally decided to see what it was all about. This is the largest farmer's market we have ever seen. It is great that you can drive around first to get a "lay of the land". An earlier review suggested being careful, and we could see that some produce was better looking than others, and some vendors seemed to be much friendlier than others. The peaches smelled wonderful like a peach should smell. You don't find peaches that really smell like peaches in most grocery stores. Beautiful tomatoes ( the ones we had for dinner tonight were scrumptious) including heirlooms, very unusual types of squash and peppers as well. We didn't try any of the home made items, but the fruit and veggies are amazing.
Can't wait for our next visit to Asheville, we will make this a stop for certain!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western North Carolina Farmers Market also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Western North Carolina Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western North Carolina Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Western North Carolina Farmers Market to your Saves list