We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack of the Wood

Jack of the Wood
95 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3316
828-252-5445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

love beer and they have a lot of it and good prices. I love the local brews and this is a great place to hear music and drink copious amounts of the nectar of the gods!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    81
    21
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a great time visiting Jack of the Wood for drinks and listening to the open mik entertainment (it was a Wednesday night). We didn't eat, so I can't comment on the food.

I recommend going when The Stillwater Hobos are playing - we enjoyed them immensely!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great pub and live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice evening at this bar/pub/restaurant. The night I was there the music was mountain jam. Lots of local musicians playing my kind of music. Great bar atmosphere with people of all ages. Nice bartenders and a huge selection of beers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food is amazing, the bar is clean and fun, the staff is friendly and helpful. They serve rabbit which is delicious. Their apps are great. The atmosphere is very organic and nice. This is a really good place to stop if you haven't you should make it a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quizzo Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped down after dinner at the Lightning Seed, which is directly above, off of Wall Street. Server noticed us immediately and brought two beers. She was knowledgeable and made a recommendation. Unfortunately it was near the culmination of quiz night, so no music. Good ambiance and a short cut back to our hotel across the street in the rain.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack of the Wood also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Jack of the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack of the Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.