We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend at Hill House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801 (Five Points)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Asheville B&B and Inns
Athens, GA
1 review
“Relaxing Weekend at Hill House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in the Arcade room and it was wonderful! The room was fantastic - very pleasing and tasteful decor. The staff was very welcoming and the breakfasts we had were delicious. Matthew was very helpful in giving us information about local restaurants. A very relaxing weekend indeed! We would definitely stay at Hill House again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the house on the first floor and it was very quiet. We had really great nat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    45
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
243
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raeford, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have never had the Bed and Breakfast experience, but I could not have imagined a better first time stay! The breakfast was awesome and in a quiet neighborhood close to downtown. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in the Biltmore suite over Presidents Weekend 2012.----The room was spotless, very nice size, and we were provided everything we needed from the moment we walked in the door. The owner David, is super friendly and very accommodating. For the breakfast we had a quiche, which was very tasty, and also some fresh baked pear bread, which was excellent with the coffee. I would highly recommend for anyone to stay here----a short drive to downtown, and close to everything. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We loved this place. The new owner David is a great guy, a lot of fun to talk to, as were the assistant innkeeper Matthew and Crystal. The common area where breakfast is served is a beautiful space. We stayed in the Battery Park room, which had a really nice sunroom and was quite cozy. We'd probably be inclined to give this an Excellent review if the bathroom had been a little nicer. Unlike many other rooms, the Battery Park room has only a standing shower and seemed a little out of date.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was my first time to ever stay at a bed and breakfast. I did a lot of research to find a b&b with both ambiance (that wasn't outdated) and a good location. This place was perfect! We adored our room, Kress Room, and thought the entire house was beautiful. The staff were very helpful and kind. I would definitely stay here again. Oh yeah, and BREAKFAST? So yum.

Room Tip: Kress is very relaxing. I'd like to go back alone and just read in it all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Having recently stayed in another B&B in a small southern artsy city, we found the rooms and house a bit dilapidated and small, the late night driveway noise bothersome, the breakfast adequate but not spectacular, and the price WAY out of line. When I come back to Asheville, I'll try another place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill_House_Innkeeper, Owner at Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hill House certainly is not dilapidated in any way. We're constantly complimented on the beauty of our common areas. Yes, a couple of our lower-priced guest rooms don't have polished hardwood floors and a couple of pieces of furniture in them could better be described as used rather than antique. But we make a strong effort to give those rooms a certain country or bohemian charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Asheville for the first time in November 2011 and stay at Hill House. We loved Asheville and we loved Hill House. Bill and Terry were very friendly, the homemade breakfast was delicious, the dogs were adorable, the beds were super comfy, the house was immaculately clean, and the snacks and drinks available 24 hours for guests was awesome. We don't have a single complaint. We will without a doubt be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 120 Hillside St, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Five Points
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn lies in the heart of Asheville, NC, just minutes to downtown and Biltmore Estate. Enjoy those extra special touches, from exceptionally restful beds and delightful breakfasts to our expansive wrap-around porch overlooking the gardens. You'll feel comfortably at home in the casual elegance of this 1885 residence with an eclectic mix of antique, traditional and unusual furnishings. Choose from ten guest accommodations, most with fireplaces and/or whirlpool tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill House Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.