We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique Aloft” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A boutique Aloft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Alofts are quickly becoming my go to for business trips. Simple, clean and usually in great locations. Aloft Ashville is in a great location for a long weekend, right in the heart of downtown. There must be 30 restaurants and bars in walking distance.
The reason I think it's a bit more boutique is because of the great 2nd floor lobby with a large outdoor patio, perfect for a pre-dinner drinks or a night cap. Also the rooms which open onto the pool deck take the space to a new level of comfort. You cannot beat the added outdoor space.
If it's a long weekend and your not concerned about the "full service " aspect of a luxury hotel this is the ideal base to explore Ashville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    178
    41
    27
    12
See reviews for
70
277
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We reserved one of the Pool Cabana rooms and this past week and LOVED it. The room was European in size, but had everything you would expect in a hotel room: 2 very comfortable queen beds (our request, since we were traveling with a teen), desk, chair, and bedside table tops, mini fridge, closet space and safe.

The hotel has a fun modern look and the Starbucks and bar area were busy most of the time. There is a dog walking area on the pool level; we saw quite a few folks out there walking (and cleaning up after) their dogs.

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. If location is important to you then the Aloft Asheville will fit the bill perfectly as it's in the heart of it all. As an aside, call the front desk to make your reservation - you might just get an incredible deal on rate. We did!

The only reason we would stay ANYWHERE else in Asheville would be if they didn't have rooms available.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly and ask for any specials they are running. We paid $62/night for the 2nd ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great location - in the center on downtown Asheville, but not noisy.
Our room on the 5th floor overlooked Biltmore Street, yet it was surprisingly quiet at night.
Very comfortable mattress, contemporary room with actual thermostat. Air-conditioning was pretty loud, though. Nice shower with glass door and opaque glass wall that lets natural light in, no bath tub.
Each floor has pre-bagged ice and reverse osmosis water taps to fill your water carafe.
Wi-Fi is complimentary in the room and throughout the hotel. Each room has mini-refrigerator and safe, also iron and ironing board. Flat screen TV and a list of TV channels (so you don't have to flip through all of them trying to find what's available), including Several HBO channels and Showtime.
My only "beef" is no towel hooks in the "sink area" and no extra toilet paper roll. Ours ran out and we had to call front desk to have another one delivered. The blue soap they give you smells so good!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just stayed one night at Aloft but the location was perfect for experiencing Asheville on foot. The hotel was clean, modern and just right for our stay. The room was on the small size, but we didn't plan to spend our time in the room, so that was great. The view from our room was awesome. The lounge area is very nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for easy access to downtown Asheville. We stayed here to see Beck at the Thomas Wolfe Auditorium and we were able to walk to dinner, walk back to our hotel before the concert, and then walk to the auditorium for the concert. It was perfect!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Our room was on the small side, but had a great view of the bustling street in front of our hotel and some good views of the mountains. We were there for only one night so the size did not bother us, but would definitely prefer a bigger room if staying for longer. I think ours was a standard king size room. The room had a small refrigerator (which was nice), a safe, no bathtub but a nice walk in shower. The bed was wide because it was king sized, but was not very long. My husband felt like his feet were hanging off the end of the bed and he is not very tall-5'9. There was a large flat screen tv on the wall in front of the bed. The room was small so it made the TV seem big and definitely easy to see!

We had drinks at the bar in the hotel after our concert and it was nice. We sat out on the deck overlooking the street. They had a DJ for Saturday night but he couldn't play too late (i think he stopped at 12pm) due to the noise.

Overall it was a good experience. I would recommend this hotel more for a weekend getaway for couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Aloft Asheville is the best located hotel in Asheville. Parking is easy and cheap. The rooftop pool overlooks the city. The bar is fun with friendly bartenders and really good food. I honestly have no complaints at all about this hotel. The rooms are simple but very comfortable, and I know we didn't spend much time in our room anyway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear TedyR21,
We appreciate you taking the time to share with us, We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the features and amenities at our hotel, in addition to our great location. We hope to see you again soon next time you are in the area. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Perfect downtown location walkable to all restaurants, shops, galleries. Only needed car to get to River walk galleries. Modern rooms with great beds. Knowledgable front desk young staff who helped with all aspects of our visit first to Asheville. Unique rooftop pool with fire pit to sit around in evening. Also a dog run. Cool bar with indoor & balcony seating available overlooking busy streets. Live music nights & Sat. Night salsa DJ & singer that attracts amazing local dancers is a people watching delight! Indoor garage parking very convenient. Will def stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.