We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel was wonderful! This hotel is very pet friendly...we took our dog and our cat! There is absolutely no extra fee to bring pets. When we arrived, they told us that we could move to the 3rd floor and have a view of the pool. The 3rd floor I'm guessing is the "dog floor" and we loved it! Not only was our view of the pool nice, but it was also located near the outside dog area (which we found so nice!) There is also a really nice sitting area with a fire pit.

When we made our reservation, I put that it would be my birthday the day we arrived. I was pleasantly surprised to find an envelope in our room for two complimentary drinks at the bar. The bar was very nice and the atmosphere was pleasant. (I saw one person complain that the bar closed at 12 during the week.....most shops in Asheville close at 9 or 10, if your looking to party late this may not be your type of town)

I had read on the website beforehand that you could get a "puppy love" package. We didn't get one when we arrived so I called the front desk and they came right up and brought it to us. It included a big pillow bed, a ball, dog treats, and a bowl. I thought it was so great how they cater to animals. They do make you sign a waiver saying not to leave your dog unattended in the room, but I am guessing that may mean running around. Anyways, we brought my dog's crate, so we just put her in there when we went out. We had absolutely no problems.

We will definitely be back here soon!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    164
    38
    25
    12
See reviews for
63
257
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here during a getaway weekend. It was our first time bringing the dog to a hotel, and we were very happy with how it went. They provide a really nice dog bed, bowls, and some treats from a nearby dog bakery. The 3rd floor is designated as the "dog" floor, which is great as we didn't have to worry about the occasional barking disturbing guests there without a pooch in tow. As far as we could tell, every occupied room on our floor that weekend had a dog in it.
As we were there on a chilly weekend in November, there was no DJ or "club scene" that other reviewers have mentioned outside at all. In fact, the outdoor area was completely dead all weekend save all the pet owners using the dog run. We had a mountain view room on the 3rd floor and though we saw a lot more of the parking lot that we'd wanted, we still had a nice view of the mountains, too. The bar in the hotel was great and also pet-friendly, and the balcony would be very nice to sit on during a warmer weekend.

The rooms themselves are small but well-appointed. The beds are ridiculously comfortable, and the showers (and bliss products) are great. The hotel is EXTREMELY well-located, right in the downtown area. The only place we couldn't walk to was the Biltmore! We also appreciated the free wifi.

Room Tip: If you bring a dog, you will be on the third floor. If you don't have a dog with you, you may wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

There aren't many options for hotels in downtown so we've stayed in all but one of them. This was our first time staying at the Aloft since it opened last year. We arrived early and were able to check in around 1:30. The first room had a strange body odor smell but we were given another room immediately. There is only one other downtown hotel that has as good of a location but it is typically more expensive. It's actually almost too close to everything if you like to take a walk after dinner! The WXYZ bar and lounge area of the second floor is a nice added bonus especially if you book a rate that gets two free drinks per night of stay. Another nice touch was the $5 credit per night for not getting housekeeping service. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We just stayed one night, but it is a nice place. My only complaint was the lighting in the bedroom; it was too minimal to do any work. Parking was easy; it costs $5 a night. This hotel is very conveniently located for those wanting to walk around and enjoy Asheville. The Cafe Bakery across the street is a great place for breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hi Mary Beth S,
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. With our convenient location and easy access to nearby attractions, I’m happy you were able to enjoy your one-night stay. I appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed over Thanksgiving. For two adults and two kids, the room with two double beds felt a little cramped. But the staff was VERY nice, the decor was fun, and the location was great! It's right across from City Bakery, and next door to Blackbird, and just a short walk from the coolest part of Asheville. And the view from the room of the Blueridge mountains is spectacular. What's more, they let us bring our dog, and there's even an outdoor dog run. My one complaint would be that they didn't have a way to rent movies.

Room Tip: If you hate dogs, request not to be on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were given room 321 from 2/28 through 3/2 which is directly above the bar and outside bar patio. An unfriendly staff member who refused to let us check in at 2pm even though our friends called ahead and were told lots of rooms were already cleaned made us sit and wait by the front desk till 2:40. Even then, we had to approach him and ask if rooms were ready yet. Though it would have been nice for him to tell us that on his own. Friday night we went to bed after 11 and our room was SO noisy from the DJ that was playing DIRECTLY below us that we had to go and ask for a new room. They instead shut him down and while I was standing next to the manager she told him that they just let it go until a guest complains. On Saturday we were in at 11:50 and the DJ was back. The sign clearly said it ended at 11pm and we intentionally stayed out past that so we were doing our part, but when we asked for another room at 11:50 we were told they would end at midnight and that they used to play till 1am. I suppose he wanted us to think how lucky we were? Both times we were pretty much blown off and not a big apology given. For $140 a night, this is ridiculous especially when the front desk person says they can't figure out if they're a bar with a hotel or a hotel with a bar. I suggest you figure that out. We'll spend our money elsewhere from now on since we come to Asheville about 6 times a year.

Room Tip: Do not get a 3rd floor room if you want to sleep before midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Flattysmith,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m sorry that you found your hotel stay to be noisy, and I apologize for the inconveniences that caused. I hope that after speaking with Laura, our Guest Services Manager, you were able to learn that we are indeed a hotel first. Please take our one night refund as an apology for your experience. We encourage you to return and reach out to Laura with any other questions or feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Located right between two of my favorite spots, Wicked Weed Brewing and Curate restaurant, Aloft is well situated for a downtown visit.
The rooms are quite modern in style and the bathroom doesn't afford a ton of privacy with a sliding door but overall I would stay here again if I wanted to be right in the heart of downtown. Parking was designated for hotel guests and was very convenient. The pool looked great out the window.
For those of us who prefer not to sleep where other people's pets have stayed, it would be great if they had a pet free floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi CubbieBear,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our convenient location in the heart of downtown. I will share your feedback regarding a pet-free floor with our team. We always appreciate hearing new ideas and suggestions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.