We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locations, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Asheville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great locations, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Okay, Aloft is a super cool hotel with arguably the best downtown location in Asheville. That said, there were dozens of barking dogs. Owners decided to leave their dogs alone all day and night. There was hardly a moment when you could hear dogs barking. Even though not having quite time when I wanted the location and staff were great. If you choose to say at this location, you must add earplugs to your packing list - maybe a couple of sleeping pills too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    199
    44
    28
    13
See reviews for
79
301
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel. Great location. Easy walking to restaurants and shops. The hotel itself has lots of fun things to do it is an attraction in itself. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We can't wait to stay in another Aloft property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Cali13girl,

We are thrilled you had a wonderful time at Aloft! We always love to hear positive feedback from our guests. It is great that you were able to enjoy walking to the nearby restaurants and shops, and we are so glad that our staff was both friendly and helpful to you during your stay. We can’t wait to see you next time you’re in Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A friend recommended Aloft Hotels, as they are pet friendly and we usually have pugs in tow. He said they were funky and fun, too, which was an added bonus, and said one was coming to Asheville

We were staying at another hotel when we noticed the grand opening for the Aloft. They showed us around, and I was sold just from that.

It has a fresh, modern look, very clean and not cluttered. On the third floor there is a pool on the roof, a fire pit, and...a dog walking area. We made plans to stay there when we came back in February.

The rooms are small, but large enough. They are bright and cheerful and have everything you need. There was plenty of room for the dog's crates and you could easily walk around them--it wasn't cramped, at all (and trust me, some hotel rooms are). They thoughtfully placed us in a room very close to the roof door, so walking the pugs did not involve elevators or stairs.

There is a nice bar, as well as a coffee area and a coffee shop (the coffee area is free and the coffee is very good). I did not see a restaurant, per se, but there might have been one.

You can easily walk to anything in downtown Asheville, so there is no parking problem.

All in all, it is perfect. I had no complaints and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi raynoldsk,

We are so happy you had such a wonderful time at our hotel! It is great that you were able to get a tour during the grand opening and enjoyed it so much that you chose to stay with us on your next trip. We are delighted that you found everything you needed in our rooms and liked our complimentary coffee. We also appreciate your positive feedback about our fresh, clean and modern look.

Can’t wait to see you on your next visit to Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Aloft is a bit more than I normally like to spend on hotel accomodations in Asheville, but the location just can't be beat. You can ditch your car at the hotel parking lot, and hoof-it to plenty of great attractions nearby (restaraunts, breweries, galleries, etc). The rooms are nice and spacious. Plus, the hotel is very pet-friendly (made me wish I had brought my dogs along). Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had so much fun during our stay at the aLoft in Asheville. What a perfect location! Terrific and friendly restaurant right out the front door. The sublime Wicked Weed Brewery is only steps away. Fine spirits shop along the way. Rooms are typical aLoft which means unique layout and style. Fun, fun, fun! The staff is hipster cool so don't expect any phony smiles.

Room Tip: The lobby turns into a nightclub so ask for a room far away to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean and decorated in a hip way. Breakfast was not included in the price which it should since it was quiet pricy. Aircondition made loads of noise until we put it on auto, then it was fine. When checking out there was no one in the reception so we had to go to another floor and fix that. Unfortunately, we did not get to try the nice pool. All in all, a good experience- and a top notch location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed the central location - the modern design is a contrast with the old buildings downtown, more like you'd expect to see in Berlin, but it is somehow a perfect fit for Asheville. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet - contrary to a another recent review, our a/c was much quieter than most we've seen elsewhere. We even enjoyed the hotel bar at the end of a fun night - we usually don't bother with hotel bars but this place had a great jazz player and was a fun place to hang out.Overall, very welcoming and a good change from standard corporate hotel chains...if you want to stay downtown, and are open to a modern style, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.