We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Aloft Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloft Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel. Great location. Easy walking to restaurants and shops. The hotel itself has lots of fun things to do it is an attraction in itself. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We can't wait to stay in another Aloft property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Cali13girl,

We are thrilled you had a wonderful time at Aloft! We always love to hear positive feedback from our guests. It is great that you were able to enjoy walking to the nearby restaurants and shops, and we are so glad that our staff was both friendly and helpful to you during your stay. We can’t wait to see you next time you’re in Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    147
    33
    21
    9
See reviews for
60
224
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A friend recommended Aloft Hotels, as they are pet friendly and we usually have pugs in tow. He said they were funky and fun, too, which was an added bonus, and said one was coming to Asheville

We were staying at another hotel when we noticed the grand opening for the Aloft. They showed us around, and I was sold just from that.

It has a fresh, modern look, very clean and not cluttered. On the third floor there is a pool on the roof, a fire pit, and...a dog walking area. We made plans to stay there when we came back in February.

The rooms are small, but large enough. They are bright and cheerful and have everything you need. There was plenty of room for the dog's crates and you could easily walk around them--it wasn't cramped, at all (and trust me, some hotel rooms are). They thoughtfully placed us in a room very close to the roof door, so walking the pugs did not involve elevators or stairs.

There is a nice bar, as well as a coffee area and a coffee shop (the coffee area is free and the coffee is very good). I did not see a restaurant, per se, but there might have been one.

You can easily walk to anything in downtown Asheville, so there is no parking problem.

All in all, it is perfect. I had no complaints and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi raynoldsk,

We are so happy you had such a wonderful time at our hotel! It is great that you were able to get a tour during the grand opening and enjoyed it so much that you chose to stay with us on your next trip. We are delighted that you found everything you needed in our rooms and liked our complimentary coffee. We also appreciate your positive feedback about our fresh, clean and modern look.

Can’t wait to see you on your next visit to Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Aloft is a bit more than I normally like to spend on hotel accomodations in Asheville, but the location just can't be beat. You can ditch your car at the hotel parking lot, and hoof-it to plenty of great attractions nearby (restaraunts, breweries, galleries, etc). The rooms are nice and spacious. Plus, the hotel is very pet-friendly (made me wish I had brought my dogs along). Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had so much fun during our stay at the aLoft in Asheville. What a perfect location! Terrific and friendly restaurant right out the front door. The sublime Wicked Weed Brewery is only steps away. Fine spirits shop along the way. Rooms are typical aLoft which means unique layout and style. Fun, fun, fun! The staff is hipster cool so don't expect any phony smiles.

Room Tip: The lobby turns into a nightclub so ask for a room far away to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean and decorated in a hip way. Breakfast was not included in the price which it should since it was quiet pricy. Aircondition made loads of noise until we put it on auto, then it was fine. When checking out there was no one in the reception so we had to go to another floor and fix that. Unfortunately, we did not get to try the nice pool. All in all, a good experience- and a top notch location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed the central location - the modern design is a contrast with the old buildings downtown, more like you'd expect to see in Berlin, but it is somehow a perfect fit for Asheville. The room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet - contrary to a another recent review, our a/c was much quieter than most we've seen elsewhere. We even enjoyed the hotel bar at the end of a fun night - we usually don't bother with hotel bars but this place had a great jazz player and was a fun place to hang out.Overall, very welcoming and a good change from standard corporate hotel chains...if you want to stay downtown, and are open to a modern style, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First, the positives: the location of this Aloft is excellent for downtown Asheville. Everything is within close walking distance and shops and restaurants are close by. The hotel has the typical Aloft atmosphere of hip, funky and fun. The lounge area on the second floor is busy and vibrant. The staff at the second floor guest services desk (a young man in particular - sorry, cannot remember his name!) were friendly and helpful. Having said that, now the negatives: upon check in, we patiently waited to be somewhat greeted off-handedly by Susan, who had to end her personal phone call to help us. Things went downhill from there. Asking her a simple question about parking elicited a rude comment telling us to "just read the signs". When we inquired about the possibility of a room with a mountain view, she condescendingly told us that at the rate we were paying, we were assigned the "least desirable" room (I believe she called it LQ?) This was after she waffled back and forth, saying we requested a city view (we did not and produced the confirmation to prove this.) At this point, she literally stopped speaking and wouldn't respond to anything else we asked. Awkward!! Since we were only there for one night, we didn't press the issue, but were disappointed that our stay had such a negative start. The room was comfortable, and having stayed at other Alofts, we knew what to expect. However, the room showed some wear and tear and could have been cleaner. No major complaints though. This Aloft has the potential to be great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear rumurr,

Thank you for your review about Aloft Asheville Downtown. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the shops and restaurants by our hotel. We’re also glad that the second floor guest services desk was so helpful – we will be sure to let them know. At the same time, we’re sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during check in with our staff. We aim to treat guests with respect and full attention, and we apologize for not upholding this standard upon your check-in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.