We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location and Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My SO & I stayed at Aloft in March 2013 and have already booked another stay here for the beginning of August. Despite the chilly mountain air, we walked everywhere in downtown Asheville that I wanted to go (Virtue, Bouchon, Dobra tea, Hip Replacements). I've stayed in other boutique hotels and this one comes out on top for many reasons--comfort, design, and lack of pretension being chief among them. I haven't checked out the hotel bar or the pool, but I plan on doing both on my next stay. Additionally, this price point is reasonable for the boutique experience, in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi TheMSeries,

Thanks for choosing Aloft Asheville and for sharing your feedback with us! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and the convenience of our downtown Asheville location.

We look forward to seeing you again in August, and do hope you'll check out our rooftop pool and pool bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    157
    36
    23
    10
See reviews for
61
246
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We needed to stay for a night in Asheville with our Chihuahua before we headed up to my father-in-law's in the mountains. We come to Asheville often and thought we would try this new hotel because of it's incredibly pet-friendly policy. We were given an "Arf Package" complimentary for our dog (we did have to ask for it - would have been nice if they just offered it, as the website stated)

There is a great dog walking area on the 3rd floor. The smells must be great because our little one went much more than usual! Each floor has a water and ice station with drinking water. Awesome!

The rooms are great! They are on the smaller side but the way they are arranged is very comfortable. We just got back from Europe a few months ago so we are used to smaller rooms. This hotel will definitely be our hotel of choice for our future visits to Asheville!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Let see, what's not to like about this charming hotel? I honestly can't think of anything. Ok...the pool is a little small I suppose. The shower head does sort of splashes out too much water onto the floor...no big deal!!! Aloft is nevertheless, a really fun place to stay. I booked a 1 night stay for a weekend visit to Asheville/Biltmore estate...and it was a fabulous experience. Our family of 4 just love love love this hotel! For a small hotel, they have fairly good amenities with a very hip bar, restaurant, and breakfast/coffee/snack station. The staff is super helpful and friendly. Kudos to the staff and management :-) As a SPG gold member, I was upgraded to a mountain view room, and received a beverage voucher during the stay. This hotel is very modern, clean, and smack in the middle of all the action in downtown Asheville. The location is superb! Across the street are several Art galleries, shops and it's surrounded by a variety of restaurants, bakeries, and breweries. Oh, did I mention it's also only less than 2 mi from the entrance to Biltmore estate. I highly recommend the Aloft, and when I return to Asheville, I would totally stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I will say what many others have said…this hotel is in an excellent location! We never needed our car as it was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go, including many restaurants and breweries. Rooms were small, but comfortable, modern and clean with great amenities. There is no doubt that we’ll stay at the Aloft when we visit Asheville again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi mousemott,

Thanks so much for choosing Aloft Asheville Downtown for your recent trip to Asheville. We're happy you enjoyed our convenient location and found our rooms comfortable and modern.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Location! Location! Location! Within walking distance to all that downtown Asheville has to offer. Friendly staff, fun common areas and nice rooms (nothing fancy, but very functional). Highly recommend the hotel for those that are looking for easy access to downtown and enjoy modern lines and amenities. I wouldn't suggest the property for people looking for a romantic getaway -- lots of activity in the hotel and this area of downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks KatCunningham15 for the kind words! We're so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay, and our fabulous downtown Asheville location. We're also glad you found our staff accommodating and enjoyed our public spaces and guestrooms.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Loved this hotel, from the time we entered the lobby it was full of color and excitement. The patio area, bar and eating area are all vibrant and fun filled iwth lots of excitement just on the check-in. Loved the breakfast service and loved the bar and food service at the bar. I would definitely recommend. I had swimsuit in hand but not a place to swim as the wind was blowing and it was still cool temps when we visited, but the pool area is so inviting with the set-up and the fire pit. The rooms are so cool and also exciting. Vibrant colors and there is nothing better then a room with a swank bathroom and a great shower experience. For me that is the icing on the cake. The hotel is within walking distance of everything, restaurants and shops. I must say there isn't a lot to do after you've viewed the biltmore unless you love beer and lots of brewery's but it is a fun place to explore.

Room Tip: The pool view from the room along with the mountain views are a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in downtown Asheville, this location is perfect. We walked everywhere we wanted to go and just left our car in the convenient garage attached to the hotel. The rooms were very clean and modern. We had a king room which overlooked the lovely pool. Space was a little tight, but not to the point of any inconvenience. The only reason I gave four stars for cleanliness was the very faint dog smell in the hallways. I realized when I booked, though, that it was a pet friendly hotel. Room and linens were fresh and clean with no odor whatsoever! Front desk service was excellent, bar service was so-so. No big deal, though, we spent most the night out on the town anyway. Overall, would recommend and stay again if in town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi samuck27,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us - we're thrilled you enjoyed your Aloft stay! So happy to hear you found our location convenient, rooms clean and service excellent.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.