We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Asheville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Asheville Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Asheville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801 (Downtown Asheville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$10 Breakfast Credit
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Asheville
new york NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you are looking for a unique hotel experience, this is it. The Aloft does not fit into the typical hotel feel. The atmosphere is modern and hip. Reading the other reviews, we were concerned about the noise. We let the hotel know our concerns traveling with our 8 and 3 year old. They not only made sure we had a quiet room, they left us a welcome note. So amazingly thoughtful. We had a mountain view which was beautiful.

The staff was welcoming and extremely helpful so I am not sure why there were complaints about that. Even being awoken by a guest pulling the fire alarm at 4am the hotel immediately left an apology letter under our door and made sure we were well compensated for the issue. The rooms are not large but comfortable. Everything is new and very clean. The shower is great with Bliss hair care and body soap. Great for saving the environment from so many empty wasted bottles.

The lobby is so fun with a pool table, fun chairs and XYZ lounge and bar. It opens to a beautiful terrace. The outdoor pool looked nice with a fire pit and seating.

The hotel allows dogs which is nice for those traveling with their dog but they should warn anyone that brings their dogs that if they bark they need to take their Dog out. We heard a dog barking for 2 hours straight. Awful for the dog and nearby guests.
The location can't be beat if you want to be walking distance to everything in downtown Asheville. We would definitely stay here again. Kudos to great management.
Don't miss White Duck Taco in the Arts District. I am still thinking about them and want to go back!

Room Tip: Request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Wow! Thanks clondoner for your recent stay, and for taking the time to share these comments. We're so happy you and your family enjoyed your time here with us, and that you were able to take in the gorgeous mountain views from your room. We're also glad you enjoyed Aloft's unique atmosphere, and that our staff made you feel welcome. We hope you'll come see us again on your next trip to Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    212
    46
    31
    14
See reviews for
88
319
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

About to leave the Aloft Hotel today and I cannot say enough good things about this place. You will not find a better staff anywhere! They were so accomodating and extremely friendly! Loved my poolside room. Prime location. Easy walking distance to wonderful restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Lisa E,
We're thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time at Aloft Asheville Downtown, and that our staff and amenities exceeded your expectations. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place and great staff running it. Every aspect of our visit was great. Smiling, helpful, attentive staff. Location was great, easy walk to all the hotspots in town. Close to the dining, nightspots, coffee shops and cultural spots. Great bakery directly opposite the front door

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived at the Aloft, and it was curious that you walk upstairs (or take the elevator) to the lobby. The lobby has a bar (with live music at night), a pool table, a small eatery, lots of comfy places to sit, and an outside terrace, lit with flaming heaters at night. We were welcomed warmly, and at 1pm, our two rooms were ready. We had requested connecting rooms with a balcony, and that's what we got! The view was awesome, looking out to the mountains.

The rooms are different--not generic. How refreshing. They are probably smaller than those familiar generic rooms, but so much more fun! We had mountain view rooms, and the bed faces out the window, so you can wake up and see the mountains from your bed. The balcony is just a little step out balcony, with glass walls, so it gives one a feeling of...well, being very high up. The bathroom has a large vessel sink, and the commode has a door you can shut (in with the shower). The shower was large, modern pretty, and had a weak spray. The amenities were in dispensers, and were nice (shampoo, body wash). There is an i-pod alarm clock, plenty of outlets, a nice tv, and a desk. Interesting note: one wall of the shower is opaque glass, and that wall is shared with the bedroom area, so that if the shower light is on, you can see it from the bedroom.

And oh! The elevators! Check out the elevator floors! They have tiles of--how do I describe it?--well, just go see them. They are so cool--they shift color and design as you step on them--very cool.

The staff was warm and friendly, ready to serve. The location was great, the place is clean, and has an awesome vibe. Very quiet in the room. We love this newish hotel! We will be back!

Room Tip: We had top floor and loved it, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Wow, thanks lemstar for sharing such great feedback! We're happy you enjoyed your Aloft stay and that you liked the unique design and amenities we offer. Our Mountain View rooms do have spectacular views and we're glad you enjoyed that. We hope to see you back next time you're in Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Alfot hotel is right on Biltmore Avenue in the heart of downtown Asheville. You can walk from here to anywhere - and walking is what you want to do in Asheville. The parking at the hotel is a mere $5/night and well worth it. Slots are reserved for hotel customers right inside the lot and close to the doors to the hotel elevator.

Hotel check in is on the 2nd floor where the bar and small restaurant are also located. Once in the elevator, you need to swipe your key to get to your room before the elevator will move. Rooms are compact and minimalistic but cute and clever - a touch of industrial loft. The toilet/shower is separated from the sink/vanity by a sliding door and is the only space entirely closed off from the bedroom. Nice walk in shower with shampoo and bath gel dispensers on the wall. The only disappointment was the coffee maker - a single cup throwback to the dark ages of cheap motels. In this age when many upscale hotels are offering Keurig coffee makers or similar, it seemed out of place and we didn't even try it.

The bar off the lobby is beautiful, upscale and lures you in. There is an outdoor heated terrace a story over Biltmore Avenue that would be perfect on a summer evening. Sliding doors from the terrace open into the lounging areas of the bar where there are soft chairs and couches and tons of pillows. The drinks are reasonable and potent. Major minus - we didn't see free coffee available anywhere.

This is the best spot to be in for walking Asheville. There are a multitude of restaurants of all venues all around. Orange Peel club is a block down the street, a bakery/coffee house is across the street and The Blackbird restaurant is adjacent to the hotel. Pack Square is a block up the street.

We enjoyed this hotel and when the weather warms up, we hope to be back and enjoy the outdoor roof pool, lounges, cabanas, bar, grill and fire pit with a view of Asheville at night. If you want to feel hip (even if you are in your senior years) this is the place to do it comfortably.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindseyVDK, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi GitanaUSA -
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel, location and amenities, and would love for you to come back this summer and enjoy a stay in one of our poolside cabana rooms! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starfishstarfish
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

was only there for 1 night, arrived a bit later in the evening. Check in was easy as could be. Very friendly gentleman checked us in, was sweet to the kids, provided us with the internet log on information. Also explained the bar and food options. We got to the room and it was great. Very modern, two beds, plenty of space. Nice television and small desk area. Bathroom was fine, nice layout to the room all in all. We were there for only one evening, but the location is stellar! Will definetely stay here again when in Asheville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice room. Very comfortable bed. Lovely view of the Smokies. Good lobby bar. Wonderful location. Breakfast not good. Over $20 for soggy microwaved pancakes and a tasteless egg sandwich. Better free breakfasts at Hilton Garden and Wingate, etc. Should be free buffet. Very good restaurant in building (Blackbird).

Room Tip: Mountain view, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.9 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#6 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Inn on Biltmore Estate
Inn on Biltmore Estate
#1 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#13 of 59 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Asheville Downtown

Address: 51 Biltmore Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville > Downtown Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Asheville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Asheville Downtown hotel offers a great view of the mountains while being situated in the heart of downtown Asheville, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Asheville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.