We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy Place; Fabulous Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bandidos Latin Kitchen

Bandidos Latin Kitchen
697 Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806-3264
828-255-8681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
Restaurant details
Asheville
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dumpy Place; Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The outside of the place is very uninviting. The inside is not very compelling either.

But the visit pays off with the food. The duck confit quesadilla is amazing with lots of duck confit filling the grilled tortillas. There is also cheese and a sauce. The shrimp enchiladas are equally amazing with shrimp, caramelized onions and cheese filling the corn tortillas. The enchiladas are topped with a spicy and creamy chipotle chile sauce.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great little out of way Gem in West Asheville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

In the a corner of a nondescript strip shopping area, beside an Ingles grocery -- GREAT food --

if you like onions - try the "ramp" and wild duck burrito - (only in summer season)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well Done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Asheville is not lacking in Latin fusion establishments and Bandidos can compete with any of them for flavor. My wife and I ate here for the 1st time after several recommendations. We ordered the Cuban plate and the pork quesadilla and were very happy with the choices. my only gripe was that the pork on the Cuban plate was a bit too salty. Yes, the plantains were awesome and the hot sauces were exceptional. The atmosphere is lacking (at the end of an old strip mall in West Asheville) Despite the minor negatives, we will be back to enjoy the rest of their menu. I here the Duck Confit Quesadilla is to die for.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“delicious food in a friendly setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This restaurant is not much to look at from the outside but its food more than makes up for its humble setting. The cuisine is mexican/latin american with fresh local ingredients used in creative ways-duck confit quesadillas, roasted fig salsa, etc. They have amazing fried plantains and local brews on tap. Bandidos, tucked away in the back of the parking lot that features Burgermeister and a laundromat, is yet another great addition to the West Asheville dining scene.

http://bandidosburritosasheville.com/

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty Latin Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I love restaurants like this - it is more than a "hole-in-the-wall", but not a chain restaurant. Members of the staff were friendly and helpful. The menu choices were plentiful for a small restaurant. The chips they served as an appetizer were made fresh in the shop and seasoned very well. We ordered two entrees and a dessert and paid about $18.00. I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you like authentic Latin food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandidos Latin Kitchen also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Bandidos Latin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandidos Latin Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.