We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Walnut Wine Bar

5 Walnut Wine Bar
5 Walnut Street, Asheville, NC
828.253.2593
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had been hearing about this place for a while. Finally went with a couple of friends last month and we all enjoyed it. Service was casual but in a good way. We shared a bottle of vinho verde -- a crisp Portugese white with a nice touch of effervescence. We weren't expecting them to have food, but were thrilled that they did. They offer a nice selection of bar snacks, of which we tried the trout dip (smokey and delicious), the cheese plate (nothing too crazy, but a simple and tasty spread), and the hummus.

Great spot for a drink and a bite to eat. Oh yeah, try to get a seat by one of their large open windows...breezy and bustling.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great wine bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent a wonderful afternoon here. Great wine and beer selections and interesting appetizers and small plates. Brooke, our bartender was very friendly and provided great information about the area. Loved meeting Jason, Michael, and Kitty! We will return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice spot for local beer and live music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've been to this place a handful of times hoping that the wine selection will live up to the awesome venue and atmosphere, but it falls flat every time. The wine selections are on the cheap side of quality with steep prices by the glass. Bottle prices are somewhat better, but if you want wine with character there are much better options in town (my #1 pick is Battery Park Book Exchange). WIth that said, this is a beer city and if you want a cute place to hang out and listen to some live acts then order yourself a beer (excellent selection) and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stopped by on recommendation from our hotel and found live music, friendly service, excellent bar selection and generous pours. The clientele was very eclectic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Unique items at this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Well, we wish the music didn't start so late. On a Friday night, it starts at 10:00. We were long gone. When we walked in, the place was slammed. We found a seat, were given menus, and waited. Waited and waited. I was about to leave when the bartender approached us, apologized, and got us our drinks. From then on, our service was great. There were lots of good wines to try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Walnut Wine Bar also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to 5 Walnut Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Walnut Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.