We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One serious problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Walnut Wine Bar

5 Walnut Wine Bar
5 Walnut Street, Asheville, NC
828.253.2593
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One serious problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place but: Extremely stinky street people come in on cold nights. They can be disruptive. The entire room stinks within minutes and customers leave in droves. I'm glad I wasn't running a tab so I could leave my nearly full glass quickly. Reminded me of that Seinfeld episode with the B. O. valet. I'm sympathetic but I'm no Mother Teresa. I wouldn't go to a homeless shelter for a fine wine. Maybe they should put Wild Irish Rose on the list. I've got to go take a shower now...

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Unwine with Great Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just love this little nook in downtown Asheville. The service is friendly and gives great recommendations. Local brews and wonderful wines along with an eclectic nibbling menu. They open the large windows when the weather is nice...ambiance is comfy and cozy. Mix of locals with dogs and out of towners and everyone is friendly

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were walking by on our exploration of downtown Asheville and found this nice little wine bar.
Enjoyed the wine. We were there in the afternoon but it looked like a fun night spot with live music.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great wine and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place was recommended to me by a local and I'm so glad that I went. Very friendly and inviting location. The Staff, I believe her name was Sheila, was wonderful. Very friendly and entertaining. The music was by a local artist and she was wonderful. Prior to the music starting it was a mix of locals and tourists, but everyone was talking to everyone and just having a great time. I would highly recommend going here for a drink or two. I didn't eat here.The menu is limited, but looked great. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun place for a glass of wine, great live music some nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

5 Walnut has a wide range of wines by the glass and the atmosphere is great. They open up the large front windows whenever possible, which is really nice -- but if it is a cool evening, be sure to wear something warm enough. Love the John Henry's on Tuesday nights!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Walnut Wine Bar also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to 5 Walnut Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Walnut Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.