We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very intersting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plant Vegan Restaurant

Plant Vegan Restaurant
165 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1827
+1 828-258-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 575 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Plant serves innovative, organic plant-based cuisine, local brews, craft cocktails, and biodynamic wines in a modern inviting setting.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very intersting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We have gone to Laughing Seed perhaps 10 times over the years coming thru Asheville
Not vegetarians but enjoy well cooked interesting food. We stopped only for drinks and appetizers. The hummus is excellent and with the sides created a great taste treat. The seitan skewers with pineapple sauce and a green was interesting and also tastey. First time I have had this dish. We ate outside since it is a gorgeous day in town. The atmosphere outside is lacking the funky urban Intown feel that we enjoy. The inside eating area in lively but a bit loud for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    57
    22
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
2 reviews
“Outstanding delicious handcrafted gourmet vegan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Plant was the destination restaurant for my birthday and it was definitely a phenomenal choice. The food was delicately prepared, full of flavor, the atmosphere was pleasant with knowledgable and friendly staff. The prices and portions were fair and the creativity and care put in the dishes was truly delectable. Thanks Plant!!! Once again showing us truly plant-based nutrition can healthy, tasty, delicious, and worth any effort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serious Vegan Delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is absolutely beyond me how anyone could give Plant anything less than 5 stars. I was in line the day they opened and haven't stopped eating here ever since. Each experience at Plant becomes one of those meals where every bite prompts a wide-eyed, awestruck "mmmmmmm!!!" The food is creative, lively, gorgeous and delicious... although sometimes slow to come out, but that is quickly forgotten at the first bite. I've been vegan for years and Plant is up to par with some of the best veg food I've ever had... from New York to Portland to LA and all over! Although the hike in their prices and the loss of lunch service has kept me from dining here as much as I'd like, a 20-something's budget makes this place an occasional treat well worth every penny. Try the seitan and waffles at Sunday brunch. Better than any chicken and waffles that have ever existed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow! Interesting, delicious veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had dinner at Plant on the recommendation of our hotel staff. It was amazing and lived up to all the high praise. Our waitress was friendly and really great with our 3 kids. The food was outstanding - we are a vegetarian family and sometimes struggle to get food that is unusual...not at Plant, here the menu was so interesting - seitan bacon, portabella steak yum! yum!
Definitely give it a try if you are in Asheville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Interesting, if not outstanding, Nouveau Asheville eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Plant, the restaurant with roots, is an inconspicuous roadside eatery on Merrimon Ave., on the north side of Asheville. They aspire to join the host of eateries in Asheville characterized by an emphasis on vegetable based, "all natural", "healthy" and "organic" menu items.
The fried "jerk" seitan with whipped cauliflower was tastey and served with a mish mash of other vegetables that had little individual character.
The medley of sauteed mushrooms was similarly heaped very artistically with dissimilar vegetables that were not particularly compatible. Both entrees were overpriced.
The server was very pleasant and demonstrated a knowledge of the menu items. The service was a bit slow for a light client load.
For a restaurant that seems to be seeking a spot among the growing number of supper destinations in Ashe ville emphasizing the marriage of healthy foods and artistic presentations, Plant comes out in the middle of the crowd. There are better choices in this community of above average restaurants. Gary W.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plant Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Plant Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plant Vegan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.