We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious Vegan Delicacies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plant Vegan Restaurant

Plant Vegan Restaurant
165 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1827 (Five Points)
+1 828-258-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 630 restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Five Points
Description: Plant serves innovative, organic plant-based cuisine, local brews, and biodynamic wines in a modern inviting setting.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Serious Vegan Delicacies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is absolutely beyond me how anyone could give Plant anything less than 5 stars. I was in line the day they opened and haven't stopped eating here ever since. Each experience at Plant becomes one of those meals where every bite prompts a wide-eyed, awestruck "mmmmmmm!!!" The food is creative, lively, gorgeous and delicious... although sometimes slow to come out, but that is quickly forgotten at the first bite. I've been vegan for years and Plant is up to par with some of the best veg food I've ever had... from New York to Portland to LA and all over! Although the hike in their prices and the loss of lunch service has kept me from dining here as much as I'd like, a 20-something's budget makes this place an occasional treat well worth every penny. Try the seitan and waffles at Sunday brunch. Better than any chicken and waffles that have ever existed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    228
    48
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow! Interesting, delicious veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had dinner at Plant on the recommendation of our hotel staff. It was amazing and lived up to all the high praise. Our waitress was friendly and really great with our 3 kids. The food was outstanding - we are a vegetarian family and sometimes struggle to get food that is unusual...not at Plant, here the menu was so interesting - seitan bacon, portabella steak yum! yum!
Definitely give it a try if you are in Asheville.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Interesting, if not outstanding, Nouveau Asheville eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Plant, the restaurant with roots, is an inconspicuous roadside eatery on Merrimon Ave., on the north side of Asheville. They aspire to join the host of eateries in Asheville characterized by an emphasis on vegetable based, "all natural", "healthy" and "organic" menu items.
The fried "jerk" seitan with whipped cauliflower was tastey and served with a mish mash of other vegetables that had little individual character.
The medley of sauteed mushrooms was similarly heaped very artistically with dissimilar vegetables that were not particularly compatible. Both entrees were overpriced.
The server was very pleasant and demonstrated a knowledge of the menu items. The service was a bit slow for a light client load.
For a restaurant that seems to be seeking a spot among the growing number of supper destinations in Ashe ville emphasizing the marriage of healthy foods and artistic presentations, Plant comes out in the middle of the crowd. There are better choices in this community of above average restaurants. Gary W.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Love and magic" make this excellent fare for everyone in your party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great restaurant for anyone with an openmind. The staff is friendly and willing to answer questions. We started with cups of the soup du jor, which was a spicy lentil soup. Our entrees were the hazelnut crusted Seitan and the smoked Portabella steak and we finished our meals sharing a Cannolo for dessert. The lentil soup was incredible, with a subtle, almost smoky kick. The Seitan and Portabella were cooked to perfection. I asked our server what made their food so much better than what we make at home, and he suggested it was "love and magic". Both elements are evident! Save room for dessert, or at least a scoop of ice cream. Wish we could've tried everything!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stunned at how good this restaurant is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had the jerk Seitan and the "oysters" both were served with jalapeño red potatoes. The jerk seitan was served with collard greens which I never ate or even thought that I liked. We travel and try new vegan restaurants. This one rated as one of the best we have found. Go there as quickly as you can. Have the vegan ice cream for dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plant Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains

Been to Plant Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plant Vegan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.