We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making vegan tast great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plant Vegan Restaurant

Plant Vegan Restaurant
165 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1827
+1 828-258-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 644 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Plant serves innovative, organic plant-based cuisine, local brews, and biodynamic wines in a modern inviting setting.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Making vegan tast great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful upscale vegan restaurant. Loved there Tempe and the food was very flavorful for vegan. I eat meat and was skeptical, but they made me want more.

There server good have had a little more personality but the customers tend to be the higher end clientele so she was probably beaten down earlier in the day.

Overall a winner!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    55
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Healthy eating never tasted so good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are neither vegetarians nor vegans, but we do like to eat healthy and are not afraid of skipping meat (we try to do "Meatless Mondays" as often as possible). We had heard good things about this place, both from guests at the B and B we were staying in, and through reviews on Trip Advisor.

First the good, our server was amazing, very cheerful and knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients. We never had to ask for drink refills (which we found to be an issue in at least two other Asheville restaurants). The food, once it arrived, was superb. The creamy avocado soup was so good I wish we had ordered two bowls of it. I had the Thai tempeh roll and my husband had the red curry tofu. Both were cooked to order and were devoured in short order.

The only "bad" is the parking situation and the wait for the food. Tables that were filled after us were eating long before we did. If we'd not had someplace to be by a certain time, we could have relaxed more and enjoyed dessert. But there will be other times and other meals, as we plan to come back the next time we are in Asheville again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had in Asheville, vegan or otherwise. . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went to Plant last week based on a friend's recommendation. Neither my wife nor I are vegetarian nor vegan, but the waitress was very attentive and knowledgeable of the food and wine options. She suggested the red curry tofu and the wild mushroom entrees, both of which were fantastic! Overall, it was the best meal we've had in Asheville . . .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Innovative Vegetarian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The chef here is amazing. I have never had such creative vegetarian fare. Most veg restaurants focus on simple, comfort foods that feature either ethnic treatments or wholesome dishes that are wanting for flavor. Plant is on a whole different plane. It is unique enough to serve as a special occasion place - I went there on my birthday for a memorable meal. My husband, the DEDICATED CARNIVORE, even enjoys this place. The staff is friendly, professional and quite knowledgeable about the food. Asheville has evolved into quite a town for foodies, and Plant is a welcome addition to the burgeoning restaurant scene.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Wonderful Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

How wonderful to go to a restaurant and be able to eat anything I want without worrying about the ingredients! Not only that, but the restaurant was packed - vegans and meat eaters too. Everyone was thoroughly enjoying their food. No wonder Plant is a top rated restaurant in this great-restaurant town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plant Vegan Restaurant also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Plant Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plant Vegan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.