We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and authentic. Unpretentious. Delicious. Undiscovered gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homegrown

Homegrown
371 Merrimon Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-1223
828-232-4340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 565 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quirky and authentic. Unpretentious. Delicious. Undiscovered gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family went there last night and arrived early which was a good thing. This is not an elegant place-- specials are written on a blackboard wall and orders are placed at the counter. Waitstaff is charmingly helpful and very efficient. Food is local and cooked on arrival. The fried chicken is simply amazing. Go early and dress casual and enjoy this honest little gem of a place in downtown Asheville.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    52
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stopped into Homegrown in Asheville after a visit to Biltmore Estate. The food was pretty good. We ordered the chili, buttermilk chicken, collard greens and pork tacos. We would most definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This place offers great local food options. It was so tasty that we went back and ordered extra fries and even ice cream! Everything was delicious!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Vegetarian-friendly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Although not classified as a "vegetarian" restaurant per se due to the omnivorious menu, there were enough good vegetarian options available on the night we visited during our recent Asheville stay. You order off the changing menu which is on the wall while you wait to place your order. They bring the food out to you. A table placard brags that at Homegrown, you do NOT have to bus (clean up) your own table; the staff does that. I think that may be a subtle swipe at Rosetta's Kitchen where you DO bus your table, but regardless, it was a homey touch. The ambience and decor are also homey, nothing fancy, but nothing displeasing. The food was inexpensive but prepared well and quite delicious - and better than I could do at home. The location north of downtown with free parking is a bonus.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The restaurant gems you need to find in a new town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My buddy from New York moved to Asheville many years ago after living in the Hamptons on Long Island. I am here for 2 days and this is the first place that he takes me too.He always finds the coolest funky places with good food and great prices. Breakfast was excellent - a wonderful omelet with a side of greens (Kale). Beautifully prepared with tons of coffee for 20 bucks. In Toronto where I am from probably 30! Tonight we go to Bull and Beggar on the River in Asheville and that is a rustic, brick walled resto in an old restored factory building with artists, hairdresser and my buddy's Brew Pub (with his partners) The Wedge. Fabulous fresh beer in a super funky atmosphere - again on the rivers edge. No food served just food trucks that serve some amazing stuff (Korean- Mexican last night and other nights fabulous Pizza so he says!!). Try all these places if you get to Asheville. Very funky fun town - small city.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homegrown also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Homegrown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homegrown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.