We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Ah, the nearby Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains, and the Renaissance Asheville Hotel is also conveniently quite close to the number one tourist draw in the area - the incredible Biltmore Estate. Not only that, but the hotel offers complimentary parking and is in easy walking distance to the downtown with its interesting architecture, restaurants and water holes.

Recently completed renovations (the lobby has a fashionable contemporary look), the great location, and hospitable staff (check-in was a breeze) make this a good choice for a stay. The room was clean, the bed comfy and I enjoyed the complimentary high-speed wireless.

Unfortunately, we did not take advantage of the 60 foot indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center, but that’s for next time.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    339
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
135
325
35
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed one night for a March weekend getaway in Asheville. The location was great -- only a couple blocks from the all the Downtown bars and restaurants. All the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and the bed was super comfortable. We stayed in a mid-level room with a king size bed.

Our biggest problem was how thin the walls were. We were able to hear entire conversations of the girls next door to us, well into the wee hours of the morning (and it was not helpful when I went to bed with a migraine that night). I could even hear one of the girls getting sick in the bathroom. And we could hear everyone that went by the room.

I know the noisy neighbors were not the hotel's fault but the thinness of the walls and door was really disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the location of the hotel, however, I do apologize that you experienced noise issues.
We do hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Too far from home
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I don't understand hotels that allow garbage to be picked up during normal sleeping hours. The garbage man was there at 6:03am. The truck banged the lid several times while emptying the can.

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. My room had a microwave and a fridge. Breakfast is not included in the rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance AVL R, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Asheville Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback. I do apologize for the noise issues you experienced due to our waste and sanitation services. However, we appreciate your positive remarks concerning our rooms. We do hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Thank you all for making our stay so fabulous. Every request from a new light bulb to mouthwash was met with a friendly word and smile from the staff. We loved the Tuesday music session and the great pool. Every stay here is great. We especially like the new lobby furnishings! So comfortable to hang out in and pleasing to the eye. Super staff!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Check in was easy and the front desk staff was great. Room was clean and the bed was very comfy. Location was great for walking downtown to the various galleries, restaurants and breweries. We chose to eat at the buffet in the morning and it was good, but other than the delicious omelet station, just your ordinary breakfast selections. Our bathroom was in need of a few minor repairs .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

the location,employees,pool area are all fabulous,i don't recall all of the names of the front desk employees ,the room service gentleman,the front door man,,everyone was great,,,i especaially want to thank Patty ,the housekeeping supervisor ,she helped me pack up boxes i needed to send,make sure everything was taken care of with fed x,,she went above and beyond,,lovely woman,hard worker,,
terri ,susan and the others at the front desk were all great !!!
i don't get why the restaurant was usually empty ,,i found it to be very nice and good,well priced too,comfy beds,,the woman jesse with the pedi cab service is awesome,,fun,much cheaper then taxis,,,do not use checker cab ,,they are awful ,,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Was there over a weekend and was really impressed with the service, room set up and decor and above all location.....within walking distance to everything you want to do in downtown Asheville. What a great place to stay. I would recommend a high floor facing the mountains. Free parking....we parked and did not use our car again until we left on Monday.

Room Tip: We stayed in 809 and the view was beautiful, we could see the Grove Park Inn and the mountains. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#27 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.