We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where these neg. reviews come from.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Asheville Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Asheville
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Not sure where these neg. reviews come from.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The good: Great downtown Asheville location. Walking distance to all of downtown. FREE parking which is a huge plus in this area. Nice rooms I thought, good rates for what you get. Asheville has a lot of new "hip" boutique type hotels. This one has been around forever, knows its competition and I think keeps up pretty well. Has a very good hotel gym if you are looking for one.
The bad: Not much. The restaurants are kind of an afterthought, but who cares because so many really good ones within walking distance, and who stays at a hotel for its restaurant anyway? The hotel bar is small. Staffing at the hotel can be a little slim during the winter.
OVERALL: I have stayed here numberous times. I have seen it through some really bad times, and it has shown vast improvement over the years. If you are looking for a very nice place downtown this is for you. If you are expecting a resort, or the Grove Park Inn, or an intimate bed and breakfast than go and stay in one. This isn't it. But very very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    339
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
135
325
35
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this property for two nights before going to visit family for the holidays. We arrived very late the first night (after 12:45 am). A nice lady checked us in and we had room 800. After checking out the room, we noticed how dated it was and that the bathroom was tiny and the grout in the shower was dirty. Although at first glance the bathroom seemed clean enough, a little closer inspection showed much built up dust and dirt in corners and in the shower fixture and lighting fixtures.

We had plans to go to the Biltmore the next day, which was not far from the hotel. We left the property at 11:00 am, hoping to grab a cup of coffee in the lobby. Apparently, they only keep it out until 11:00. Happily, the nice folks in the restaurant fixed us up a to go cup.

We got back to the hotel at 7:30 to change before going back out only to find our room in the same state it was in when we left. Not only no turn down service but no housekeeping at all. Our room was untouched. After a phone call downstairs, while we were out, they came up and made up our room.

We knew we would be paying for an entire night although we wouldn't even be arriving until after midnight. We hoped to be able to get something to eat from the mini bar, but there was none. Vending machines? None. Coffee? None. Then to come back the one day we actually were in the room and it was never made up!

Instead of all the retro-modern fixes to the decor and ambiance, I would suggest a more thorough look into the basics of this hotel. Things aren't always what they appear at first glance.

I'm going to have to agree with the other reviewers. The bathroom was tiny and not very clean. The A/C unit came on and off all night and was noisy. Our room butted up against the elevators and we heard every trip in it. The carpets in the halls and elevator looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in quite some time.

Due to the timing of our short stay we were not able to use the the restaurant, room service or use the spa.

Just not the quality and experience we've come to know from Renaissance over the years. Considering the comparable price with the other hotels in the area, this was not really a good value using either points or cash.

You'd think using points to stay in a hotel would indicate that you're a repeat customer and would get good service as a result. We felt like we were being punished for using points one night of the two.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Decided to wing it Christmas week and headed to downtown Asheville without a reservation. Hotel Indigo had one room left but too pricy and terrible parking there, plus on the edge of town. They recommended this place which was perfect, so glad they did. Great views from 10th floor and nice room, everybody complains about small bathroom but this is a city hotel and we found it just fine, why do,people want to spend so much time in a bathroom anyway!

Only thing I was not impressed with was hotel bar, tiny and like an afterthought, the bartender measured my drink twice and it was not much to it for the price, but we found other bars that we enjoyed outside the hotel. Would love to come back in warmer weather and explore more!

Room Tip: Higher floor for a view, we were squared up with the overpriced grove park inn across the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I'm giving this hotel 4 stars due to location, dog-friendliness, and great staff. However, the pillows were horrific, rooms somewhat tiny, and the shower tiles' grout was discolored so I felt dirtier once I got out of the shower.

The hotel's location made this trip a success for our family. We had 13 people getting together for a long weekend, three of which were teenagers. We were all able to walk everywhere and split up knowing anyone could return to the hotel easily if desired.

The lobby area was very comfortable and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed them.

We would stay here again but will bring our own pillows. Really wish the hotel would consider re-grouting the showers so we could comfortable assume the shower was clean. The air/heating unit was so loud it woke us every time it came on throughout the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Renaissance Hotel in Asheville. Overall, my husband and I felt that the hotel was one of the nicer ones in town. The lobby was beautiful and the reception was friendly.

Our hotel room was very nice, but the bathroom was INCREDIBLY SMALL. Like, really, really small. Tiny. It was not possible to fit two people in the bathroom at the same time, and there was no fan, so if one person was showering, the other person couldn't get ready because the mirror fogged up. There was no other vanity or desk mirror in the room.

We upgraded to the "club level", and attempted on several occasions to visit the club lounge, but even though we went at various times of the day, the club level was always closed. We did not find the added cost to provide any additional benefits.

The gym was large and had several treadmills and other cardio machines. There was a wide selection of dumbbells and a few weight machines. Definitely on the nicer end of hotel gyms. We did not visit the pool.

This hotel does not have a spa.

We ordered room service for dessert, which came quickly. The chocolate cake was described on the menu as being accompanied by ice cream, but it came only with whipped cream. When the apple pie was delivered, part of it was stuck to the top of the cover.

Housekeeping did a serviceable job. They made up the beds but did not tidy up the rooms much. Chocolates were left on the pillows each night.

The hotel is within walking distance of many wonderful restaurants and shops. We really enjoyed the food tour "Eating Asheville" during our stay. If you want to tour the Biltmore, you'll definitely have to drive from this hotel. Also, you can avoid lines at the Biltmore by purchasing your tickets at the hotel. The hotel told us we could purchase tickets there, but didn't mention that we would avoid lines by doing so.

The restaurant had a very long line for breakfast on Thursday, so we did not use our coupon that day. The next day, we did go to the buffet (no line) and were somewhat disappointed. While the cold food was presented beautifully, and there was a wide selection of dishes, the hot food on the buffet was not hot. However, they did have a very friendly and gracious chef, Stephen, who prepared omelettes, eggs, and waffles to order. He made a very nice scramble for me.

Asheville is a small town with few high end hotels, so this is definitely one of the nicer (or nicest) hotels in the city, but they still have a way to go to be a luxury destination.

Room Tip: It is not necessary to upgrade to club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway. Great remodel and super friendly staff. a special thanks to Aaron who was very accomodating and personable. i was on crutches for this trip and everyone was so helpful. The pool and hot tub were a great surprise as well. great location to get out and about in Asheville. We will go back.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 11th floor. great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This building is in a great location for getting to things. It allows you to walk to restaurants and shops downtown. It was an easy drive to Blue Ridge Parkway, Biltmore House, and Grove Park Inn. It was also great for getting on and off the highway when we arrived and left town.

The hotel itself has a great lobby area, although the check in desk is a little hard to locate at first. The hotel rooms are small and could use a little updating. They have done some updating - like the vanities in the bathrooms - but other things seem to have been overlooked. It is perfectly acceptable in terms of condition & space, it just isn't anything luxurious (don't plan on taking a relaxing bath, for example).

The window had a lot of condensation on it each morning that made me concerned about water in the carpet near that area (potential for mold) and my back hurt most mornings after sleeping here.

That being said, the Aveda toiletries are a very nice touch :-) I would stay here again if I was able to get the same great rate. I wouldn't say its worth a really high rate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Asheville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Asheville Hotel

Address: 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Asheville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#27 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Asheville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Renaissance Asheville hotel, you'll be nestled among the Blue Ride and Great Smoky Mountains. Our hotel lies in the heart of downtown Asheville within walking distance to great shops and dining. On-site you'll find a 60' indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool to enjoy. As a member of the Green Hotels Association, we understand the importance of protecting our surroundings and are proud to offer sustainable dining at our on-site restaurant Writer's Bistro. Our charming rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet, 32 inch LCD HDTV, stunning views of the Great Smoky Mountains, coffee maker/tea service, iron and ironing board, desk with ergonomic chair, marble bathroom with shower/tub combination and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Asheville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Asheville
Asheville Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Asheville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.